Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Amalfi Coast Self-Drive Boat Rental

|
Amalfi, Italy

From $230.08

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon6 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
Good for avoiding crowds

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Regular temperature checks for staff
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Set your own pace with a self-drive boat rental on the Amalfi Coast. Spend up to 6 hours cruising along the UNESCO-listed shoreline to find secluded beaches, rugged rock formations and picturesque seafront towns. Enjoy a day on the water or stop in Positano, Capri or other points along the Amalfi Coast. Bring along up to 4 friends (the boat seats 5) plus any food and drinks you'd like (fuel is also at your expense).
  • Up to 6-hour self-drive boat rental on the Amalfi Coast
  • Rent a boat at any of several points along the Amalfi Coast, including Sorrento
  • Cruise out into the water off the coast and spend your time exploring at your leisure
  • Stop for visits in Positano, Amalfi or the island of Capri among other options
  • Go swimming in secluded bays right from the boat
  • Bring along food and beverages and up to 4 friends (the boat seats 5)
Introduction to the boat
Use of motorboat
Fuel
Food and drinks

Departure Point

1: 84011 Amalfi, SA, Italy
2: 84010 Conca dei Marini, SA, Italy
3: 84010 Praiano, SA, Italy
4: 80061 Nerano, Metropolitan City of Naples, Italy
5: 80067 Sorrento, Metropolitan City of Naples, Italy
6: 84010 Minori, SA, Italy
7: 84010 Maiori, SA, Italy

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • A maximum of 5 people per booking
  • Children must be accompanied by an adult
  • Departure time is flexible, between 10:30am to 11am
  • Duration of the boat rental last up to 6-hours
  • You are responsible for returning the boat in the same state you received it and for paying for gas consumed at the end of the day. If you damage the boat or lose any property of the boat, you will be charged to cover these costs.
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Drinking and driving is strictly prohibited. No exceptions and authorities will be called if we find that a driver is under the influence.
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Amalfi Coast Self-Drive Boat Rental?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Amalfi Coast Self-Drive Boat Rental.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Amalfi Coast Self-Drive Boat Rental?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Amalfi Coast Self-Drive Boat Rental.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Amalfi Coast Self-Drive Boat Rental?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 5 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Amalfi Coast Self-Drive Boat Rental.

Traveler Tips


  • "Very easy to pull up to the moorings in any of the towns and there are mooring shuttle services that can take you to shore if you want to explore, we stopped in Atrani and had lunch there, so delightful!" See review
  • "for a wee fee, they'll take you back to your boat." See review

Reviews

5.0
star-5
12 Reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-6 of 12 reviews
star-5
Fun, with helpful service
Nick_F
, May 2020
Really helpful service, with clear instructions and directions. They were very accommodating when we needed to change the location of our pick-up and drop-off. The boat was in good quality and was straightforward to drive. Loads of fun!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2020
Thanks so much for sharing about your experience boating on the Amalfi Coast. We're so happy that you had a fun day!
star-3
Fun but know what you're doing
Carolyn G
, Oct 2019
The boats are small and rubber - don't expect a normal fiberglass boat. While it's great to have flexibility, know that sometimes the gas gauges don't work. We spent our return trip from Amalfi freaking out we were going to run out of gas only to find out the gauge was broken. Since it went from 1/2 tank to E we assumed it was working - and you don't have phone reception in the ocean in some parts. We learned the gas tank is under the back seat - would have been nice to know starting out The waves and swells can feel big, so it can be choppy. But overall we enjoyed the coast and the ability to stop at Amalfi or wherever for about €10/hr.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thanks for sharing about your self drive cruising experience! I apologize for the issue with the gas gauge. When booking the self-drive boat it could be either a zodiac (the rubber style boat) or a mini motorboat self drive as mentioned in the text on the Viator website. The type of boat depends on what is available that day. Yes, absolutely we agree that when booking a self drive boat it is very important to know what you are doing - on the Mediterranean or any other body of water. Otherwise it is advisable to book a boat with a skipper so that you don't have to worry about driving on your own.
star-5
Amazing Experience on the Amalfi Coast
apalmer112019
, Sep 2019
This was probably my favorite day of our vacation. The boat rental was very simple and Antonio picked us up at the dock in the town where we were staying and then he gave us a quick lesson on how to drive the boat, Etc. and we dropped him off back in Amalfi and had the boat for the entire day. Definitely my favorite day just being able to explore the coast and be away from some of the heavier tourist crowds, beautiful views in every direction! Very easy to pull up to the moorings in any of the towns and there are mooring shuttle services that can take you to shore if you want to explore, we stopped in Atrani and had lunch there, so delightful! Would highly recommend this tour service to anyone, even if you aren't an experienced boater they do have rentals available as well where you can have a skipper included.
star-5
Amazing Experience
aschauble
, Jul 2019
Highly recommend this boat rental. We are inexperienced boaters and unfortunately the water was rough the day of our rental but the company gave us a skipper free of charge (with only a little negotiating on our end). The skipper took us to a ton of amazing places and also gave us the freedom to do what we wanted when we wanted (swim, dock, open a bottle of Prosecco, etc).
star-5
These boats were great! We were able...
aulsher
, Sep 2017
These boats were great! We were able to travel from town to town, shopping and eating lunch everywhere! There were fellas in similar boats that greeted us just off shore of Positano and Priano. They tied us to the buoy, then gave us a lift onto the beach. for a wee fee, they'll take you back to your boat. FANTASTIC!!! We tried many beaches. We even parked out on the water with the BIG BOYS yachts and swam in the open water. We are returning 2019 and We will be renting from you 4-5 days. Way Better than driving!
star-5
Fun boat adventure and would have...
David F
, Oct 2016
Fun boat adventure and would have been better if the weather had cooperated, water was rough and could not stay out as long as we wanted.

Product code: 6405SELFDRIVE

Explore Similar Things to Do