Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens

star-4.5
|
Athina, Greece

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon10 hours  (Approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Gear/equipment sanitized between use
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Regular temperature checks for staff
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Follow in the footsteps of ancient heroes and legends with a full-day tour from Athens to Delphi, a UNESCO-recognized archeological site that’s among Greece’s most iconic places. Travel past the plain of Boeotia and the birthplace of King Oedipus, then explore a historic monument and treasury, the scenic ruins of the Temple of Apollo, and the spectacular friezes in the Delphi museum. After an optional lunch at a local restaurant, visit a picturesque mountain village to browse woven handicrafts and carpets before returning to Athens.
  • Full-day tour of Delphi from Athens
  • Explore the Greek countryside
  • Visit a UNESCO site with an experienced guide
  • Step back in time on a history tour
  • All entrance fees included
  • Free hotel pickup and drop-off included

Why Travelers Choose This Tour

Opt for a 3-course meal at a Greek restaurant, or grab something to go for extra time to explore the ruins.
Saved to wishlist!
Professional and licensed guide
Transport by luxury air-conditioned coach
2.5 hours visit to the archaeological site and museum
3-course lunch at a local restaurant (if option selected)
Hotel pick-up and drop-off service (selected hotels)
Free Wi-Fi on the coach
Entrance fees
Drinks
Gratuities (optional)

Departure Point

Athanasiou Diakou 26, Athina 117 43, Greece

Traveler pickup is offered
Complimentary pick up/drop off service from/to Athens centrally located hotels.

Departure Time

8:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • During the Winter season (1 November - 31 March), the visit to Athena Pronaia Sanctuary will not take place due to the limited opening hours of the exhibition areas.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 26 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Keytours - Greece

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Regular temperature checks for staff
See all safety measures taken by Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 26 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "Bring water and wear comfortable walking shoes that you don’t mind getting dusty as by the end of the day I had walked approximately 10 kilometers (~6 miles)." See review
  • "You will only have 3 options for lunch: pay for it as part of the tour, pay on the day food options limited or bring your own lunch." See review

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
256 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 256 reviews
star-3
The view from the top of the site was incredible
Anonomous
, Sep 2020
Unfortunately this tour was a bit of a disappointment. The location was fantastic and guide was very knowledgeable. However, due to covid, we were told we must stick with the tour guide. This in principle is not a problem if we had continued to slowly make our way up the trail while he talked, but instead he spend lots of time talking at the lower parts of the trail, stopping for 10 mins at a time. The money shot that everyone comes to see and the image on there advertising material is right at the top and he did not go that far and actually told people they couldn't go up there as was to far from the group. I did ignore this and went a head anyway and it was fantastic. However was made to feel bad as was told I could get fined for leaving the group by the guide. Id paid for a ticket like every other tourist so found it unfair to be told i couldnt access parts of the site. The best bit no less when this was a once in a lifetime experience. Many people in the group did not get to see the view from the top with the theatre below. Which is what we all came to see. I feel gutted for them and from feedback I got, i think they wished they had been a bit more like me and gone ahead, if they had know the guide wouldn't go to the top. People were very disappointed. I understand the restrictions, but the situation was preventable and I would recommend to the guide and tour company that they focus there commentary at the top of the trail, not the bottom. For anyone visiting when covid is over, I'm sure it would be a much better experience.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding our Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens. We apologize for not meeting your expectations during your visit to Delphi. Please, kindly note that the top of the trail is not part of the guided tour. Before COVID-19, the guest has the chance to go up there at his own pace during the tour's free time. But due to COVID-19 restrictions, the members of each group are not allowed to investigate the site alone. We apologize again for your disappointment and we remain at your disposal. Best Regards, Marianna Papakosta
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
value for money duding covid 19
Ahilan
, Sep 2020
it was a short and sweet day trip guide was very knowledgeable and was explain throughout the journey regarding trip
icon Response from Host , Sep 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we feel more than happy we met your expectations and you enjoyed your trip to Delphi. Hope to see you soon in one of our future experiences. Best Regards, Marianna Papakosta
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Best guided tour to Delphi
Tejas
, Feb 2020
A trip to Delphi was worth every but of it. So far it was the best one day tour from Athens. A drive of about 2½ hrs from Athens which passes by in no time as our tour guide, Ms. Meriana, shared the in depth knowledge about Athens and all the places that came on our way to Delphi. Thank you Viator and Key Tours for such a beautiful trip.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to send us your review of Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens. We feel more than happy we met your expectations and you enjoyed your visit to Delphi. As for Marianna, we cannot agree more that she is an excellent guide. Hope to see you soon in one of our future experiences. Best Regards, Marianna Papakosta
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excelent guide
Departure396466
, Jan 2020
It was an excelent experience. Thank you to Evan, our guide - he is very passionate; he offered a lot of useful information, history and we spend a lovely day. We were lucky that was sunny day and also that we visited Museum with original statues founded when excavation and archeological researched were done - dont miss it. I recommend this trip and maybe would be good if will be 1 stop in Arachova - a beautiful small city in the top of the mountain. Thank you once again Evan and Viator team. Oana - Romania
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Average tour, awful lunch!
prettycakes
, Jan 2020
Let me start by saying that Delphi is an awesome place to visit if you get a chance when in Athens...I would give it a 5 star! Just be careful with what tour company you choose, ours was Key Tours. We were picked up from hotel as per schedule which was good. First stop a coffee break , then to the ruins with about 1.5 hours to visit, then to the museum with about an hour to visit in rush (no free time was given here other than the guided part) then lunch break which was well over an hour. The place where we had to go for lunch is called Symposium (?) It was extremely crowded with 2 buses already there, the hosts were rude (and frustrated with so many people to serve), they had only one vegetarian option. Not to mention, it wasn't cheap. If you prepay for lunch with your tour, it may be better as you will be stuck in that restaurant anyway(there are no other places to go around there) . Due to bad weather we had to take a longer route, which I completely understand. After all safety is most important.We took a road along Delphi coast which is a breathtaking drive but they did not stop even once for any photo opportunities but we did take a bathroom break after we got off the coastal area.We reached back in Athens at 8.30 pm. So out of the 12.5 hour tour, we actually spent only 2.5 hours doing sightseeing. I understand that they have to follow schedule but at times you need to make slight changes depending on the situation. I was also hoping there would be a quick stop in the village of Arachova as some tour companies do, that did not happen either.Also did not care much for the guide (Mariana) We felt that we wasted a whole day out of our 5 precious days in Greece. We were not the only ones on the bus who were disappointed in this trip and there were 40 other people in this group!
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to leave us your feedback. We feel sorry for not meeting your expectations during your tour with us. As you have already mentioned, safety is the most crucial factor. Due to the terrible weather, we had to take a longer route and extend the duration of the tour for an extra 2.5 hours, which obliged us to follow the schedule as better as we could. Keep in mind that among the 45 people in this group, some guests had managed their time according to the fact that we would have returned 2.5 hours earlier. Regarding the restaurant, please note that we always try to co-operate with the best places each area has to offer. We will take your comments into serious consideration to improve further our tours and services. We remain at your disposal. Best Regards, Marianna Papakosta
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
A must if you are in Athens!
monglee
, Dec 2019
A great tour featuring a world class site painstakingly and continuously restored. The Oracle of Delphi and its accompanying museum is a must to visit to complement your knowledge of the ancient civilisation in Europe and Asia Minor. The guide and driver services were excellent and the tour was well run. The only setback was the rush hour traffic returning to Athens, that was however beyond the tour operator's control.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to send us your feedback, regarding our Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens. We feel more than happy we met your expectations. Hope to see you soon in one of our future tours. Best Regards, Marianna Papakosta
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent day tour
828avivs
, Nov 2019
I found the day tour well-organized and the guide, Marianna, extremely skilled, experienced and knowledgeable. It was fascinating and Delphi is beautiful.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time in sending us your feedback. We feel happy out tour met your expectations. As for your comments about Marianna, we agree she is fantastic, very experienced, and knowledgable. We will transfer to her your comments the soonest as possible. Kindest Regards, Marianna Papakosta
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Excellent Guide!!
downhomers
, Nov 2019
This was the by far the best tour we went on. Highly recommend this company, they use headsets while exploring the sight, so there is no need to yell and they can be heard from afar. Our guide was Evan, he provided one of the best experiences with his deep knowledge of ancient mythology, as well as giving you some modern Greek phrases which came in handy. We also recommend not buying the added lunch option as you eat at the same restaurant regardless, so you have the option to choose what you get. As it is pre-determined what you get when you buy the lunch add on.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your review of our Delphi: A Day Tour at the Navel of the World from Athens. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour with us. As regards your fabulous comments about Evan, we could not agree more with you that he is amazing and very knowledgeable. We will transfer to him your comments the soonest as possible. Hope to see you soon in one of our future tours. Kindest Regards, Marianna Papakosta
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
Great one day trip and guide but you might not been able to see everything advertised
878maria101010
, Oct 2019
Very nice trip, comfortable bus and our guide Dimitris was excellent. The archaeological site and the museum was great. Unfortunately, we could not visit Athena Pronaia Sanctuary as advertised (and me and my husband main reason to take this trip) and they did not give any reason for skipping this visit (we do not know if it was for tight schedule or they just forgot) We did not include lunch on the trip but the restaurant they took us was nice with typical Greek food.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to leave us your feedback about our One Day Tour to Delphi. We are happy you found this trip very lovely. We could not agree more with you that Dimitris is fantastic, very helpful, informative, friendly, and very knowledgeable. We will transfer to him your comments the soonest as possible. As for your reference to Athena Pronaia Sanctuary, during October, some maintenance work took place. If you could tell us which day was your tour, we can confirm. Always at your disposal, Marianna Papakosta
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
A great day!
HappyBillmore
, Oct 2019
This was a very nice tour. Our guide Anna was very knowledgeable and professional. She along with our driver, George, kept thing moving nice, smooth, and safe. She presented many interesting historical facts in a clear and easily understood manner. The countryside is very beautiful and rich in history. We stopped at a very nice restaurant and had adequate rest stops. The only thing I would suggest would to improve pickup arrangements of all the guest going on this tour and other to us at the same time. Nice comfortable coaches. Enjoyed through day.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your precious time to leave us your review of our Delphi One Day Trip from Athens. We are happy to hear that you found your recent tour with Key Tours very interesting and well worth and that our driver was helpful and professional. As regards your nice comments about Anna, we could not agree more with you that she is amazing, very informative, friendly, and very knowledgeable. We will transfer to her your comments the soonest as possible. Hope to see you soon in one of our future tours. Kindest Regards, Marianna Papakosta
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 2876P36

Explore Similar Things to Do