Recent Searches
Clear

UNESCO's Alberobello and Matera from Bari

star-4.598 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Bari, Italy
UNESCO's Alberobello and Matera from Bari
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 4 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

With a private guide, visit two UNESCO World Heritage Sites in one day. First, explore Matera, including the Sassi area, a complex of cave dwellings carved into the mountainside. Nearby, rock churches house 13th-century frescoes. Then it’s on to Alberobello to see the Trulli, an awe-inspiring collection of mortarless limestone dwellings, a prehistoric building technique still used in the region.
  • Visit two UNESCO World Heritage Sites in one day
  • Local guide
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off included
Saved to wishlist!
Private transportation
All Fees and Taxes
tour guide services and assistance
Lunch

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

9:30 AM
pick up 9,30am from customer accomodation. customers can customize their pick up point!
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Puglia tour guide services di Vito Maurogiovanni
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during UNESCO's Alberobello and Matera from Bari ?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by UNESCO's Alberobello and Matera from Bari .

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Excellent trip to Matera and Alberobello - two must see destinations in Puglia." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
98 Reviews
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 98 reviews
star-5
Fabulous!
Katy_B
, Jul 2022
We had a great day out with Vito - his knowledge and passion for Puglia shined through. We spent a good amount of time in each location and being in a small group meant we could go at our own pace, highly reccomended! Grazie Vito!
star-1
The worst tour of my life.
Amanda_R
, Jun 2022
This was an awful experience. Our original tour guide canceled (Vito) and we were then given Natalya. She came 30 mins late then lied about being at our hotel. We then got into a really small car (4 of us) and she wasn’t even aware of the day tour to matera and Alberobello- she thought she was giving us a tour of castles… once we arrived she took us to a cafe and would not stop talking about how Angelina Jolie had coffee there. We came to see Matera- not some random coffee place. We then went down into sissi di matera and all she did was complain about how hot it was. We were given little to no historical information which she was googling half the time. In addition to that, she kept stopping to take breaks and “refresh” bc it was too hot. She also mentioned she was hot about 726 times. On top of all of this, she made it a point to dine with us giving the 4 of us no time to ourselves. My husband and brother paid for her coffees, lunch, gelato and waters without even hearing a thank you. We then headed to Alberobello where it was more of the same situation. Every time we tried to take a group photo she rarely offered to take it for us- and is in half of our photos because she was constantly on her phone texting and not paying attention. She not only stopped constantly to take photos of random dogs and cats- but brought us to places where she wanted to take pictures for her Instagram. Half the time was us watching her walk away. We also mentioned exactly what we wanted to see and places we didn’t care to stop at and she proceeded to ignore what we were saying and did her own thing. The walk back to the car took triple the amount of time because she forgot where she parked and we were then walking around in circles. In addition to this- we almost got into accidents because her driving is horrendous. A trip that should’ve been 6 hours turned into 10.5. I booked this tour through viatour thinking it would be a great experience as I’ve had in the past and this was the complete opposite. We’ve been on a ton of tours through Viatour and have never had an experience like this. This was a very expensive tour that we essentially guided ourselves on. I plan on contacting viatour for a full refund because this was an awful experience.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Your complain it s just because the guide was russian native Now just to inform you she is professional and she s italian citizen and an excellent guide certified! The food breakfast was offered by you Not taked. Anyway thanks and i ve refunded to you more. Finally the guide offered you 1.5 hours tour more for free
star-3
Avoid booking this thru Viator
Linda_O
, Jun 2022
This tour is fine but, at all costs, avoid booking it through Viator. Viator’s reservation and payment software is ‘not fit for purpose’ and should be suspended until they can improve it. It’s a disgrace. Book directly with the tour provider. Vito is a fine guide though it’s a busy itinerary to see two sights. Matera is worth a much longer visit. Alberobello has got too popular with many of the trullis turned into shops or cafes. On our trip, there were 15 of us in a bus for 25 people. It’s a good tour for a quick taster of these two renowned UNESCO sights if you’re in Bari and short of time.
star-5
A very interesting tour
MR_v
, Jun 2022
Both Alberobello and Matera are very interesting and unique places to visit. Vito makes the trip comfortable for every member of the group.Vito knows a lot about Puglia and history in general. He is a very open person and is telling interesting stories. I strongly recommend this tour.
star-5
Great tour
Penny_G
, Jun 2022
Vito has an obvious passion for Italy and the Puglia region. It was interesting to hear all his facts about the area. The tour was a small group, provided a mixture of structure/flexibility and allowed me to see a lot of Puglia in one day. I really enjoyed it!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
grazie, Penny! Vito
star-5
Wonderful trip, wonderful guide, highly recommend!
Agustina_A
, May 2022
What an amazing tour! Our guide, Vito, was such a pleasure to meet and to learn from. He was so friendly and knowledgeable and courteous! Our group was a small group of 6 with a mix of English and French speakers (I am currently learning Italian, but wouldn’t consider myself an Italian speaker haha) and it was amazing to see Vito transition easily between all the languages as he masterfully guided us at each site. The pick-up/transfer was seamless, the drive was beautiful. But the highlight- the sites!!! Alberobello was HIGH on my Italy bucket list and I’m glad we also got to visit Matera. Both cities beautiful and unique and quaint and wonderful. If you have an afternoon in Puglia and are looking for a wonderful way to see these sites, HIGHLY recommend Vito’s tour!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Amazing experience
Jan_C
, May 2022
Everything from start to finish is absolutely worth it. We were picked up from our accommodation on time, we got to Matera and learned a little bit about its history and showed us the good spots for photos. My favourite is Alberobelo where the unique houses is located. Our tour guide is very knowledgable about Mediterranean history and culture and also a traveler himself. Would definitely recommend.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Great trip, just a bit rushed...
Adriana_Z
, May 2022
It was a veri nice trip, I really enjoyed it, Vito is a very knowledgeable guy, I just had a feeling it was a bit rushed, 8 hours for this trip would be ideal I believe.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
History & Fairytale at your feet
Katerina_c
, Apr 2022
Walk in history in Matera and wonderful tour in a fairytale around Alberobello. Extremely impressed and grateful on the explanation, historical references, and ride provided by our guide - Marcia - she was really great!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Recommended Tour
Megan_P
, Apr 2022
We really enjoyed our tour with Vito. He is from Bari and has such a passion for the Puglia region. We had a wonderful day touring Alberobello and Matera. We would definitely book another tour option available on his website.
star-4
Worth the money !
Poornima_P
, Apr 2022
Good English speaking, flexible and reliable guide . Pick up and return from accomodation. Recommend this operator .
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
Good if you have only short time and want to visit both places
K_P
, Apr 2022
Touring with people on cruises who have to make it back in time for their cruise makes it difficult for me to truly enjoy this trip in that I would have liked to have spent a few more hours, pay more, and return in Bari around 7 or 7 pm rather than 4 or 4:30 pm for the cruise people. I hope I’d never do this kind of trip.
star-5
Gorgeous day with friends
Iasmina_S
, Apr 2022
It’s my second time doing this tour - that’s how much I loved it! I first visited Bari and surrounding areas with my mother, and returned with my friends. Vito is a knowledgeable, kind and warm guide. He warmly shares personal and historical stories of Puglia that paint a wonderful picture of the area and we will remember this day for a long time.
star-5
Trulli an excellent day.
Nicola_W
, Apr 2022
The beauty of the Truli houses and very clean streets. And also Veto our guide was excellent. Alberobello is a fantastic place and lovely people.
star-5
I enjoyed the trip. The...
Hagit_K
, Mar 2022
I enjoyed the trip. The places are beautiful & Vito is a great guide.(I had a private trip, so I don't know jow is it in a group).
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Fantastic Tour!
Mandy_F
, Feb 2022
Vito was an absolute expert! He was knowledgeable, funny and charismatic. It was a small group tour which I always prefer, and It was also a great group of people. We all had a fantastic day. The sites are so beautiful! Definitely recommend. :)
star-5
Amazing
Avraam_T
, Sep 2021
An amazing trip with an amazing guide. I definitely recommend this trip. Book it without any thoughts.
star-5
Tour was very interesting...
Ugis_K
, Sep 2021
Tour was very interesting and our guide Vito is fantastic and very passionate about Puglia and Italy. I highly recommend this tour to see two Unesco places in one day.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Super tour!
Angelina_R
, Sep 2021
It’s a very interesting tour. We learned a lot about Matera and Alberobello because our guide Vito was knowledgeable. He was accommodating and friendly. It rained so hard on our way to Alberobello but we prayed altogether for the rain to stop and it did!! This is a must-do when you’re in Bari.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
many thanks!! :-)) Vito
star-4
Good Experience
rodgarsido
, Sep 2021
Vito was extremly nice, and knew a lot about the places we visited. We spent almost the whole time talking about history, he was interested about where we were from and made the trip interesting. Alberobello is nice and pretty, and more than two hours there will be too much. Matera on the other hand is amazing, its extremly pretty and its beyond what you expect, i think the trip should have more time there. It was possible for us to get rain, and i think this made Vito very fast paced in order to get everything done. We felt a little pressured to get it on and went home wishing more time for pictures, specially in Matera (we spent only 1:30 hors there). The tour was in Vitos car, only the my wife and i, which made it more personal than what we thought, but Vito's facility to speak in many languages (Spanish for us) helped us get more comfortable.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
muchas gracias! :-))

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
UNESCO's Alberobello and Matera from Bari
Likely to Sell Out
UNESCO's Alberobello and Matera from Bari

star-4.598

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$166.76

star-516

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$209.76

star-51

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$149.26

star-4.55

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$127.75

star-51

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$201.70

star-00

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$94.39

star-52

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$156.27

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$252.80

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$152.08
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations