Recent Searches

Kona Shore Excursion: Hawaiian Sea Turtles , Historic Kona & Coffee

Kailua-Kona, United States
Kona Shore Excursion: Hawaiian Sea Turtles , Historic Kona & Coffee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon5 to 6 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Spend a full day exploring Kona. See green sea turtles, learn how Kona coffee is made, and visit archeological sites. Make the most of your time with a varied tour encapsulating Hawaii’s history, natural beauty, wildlife and culinary culture. Stop at white sand beaches, sample locally crafted world-famous coffee and then choose from a variety activities depending your tastes. You have the choice to snorkel, go souvenir shopping, or relax at the local brewery before returning the port.
  • Visit Kaloko-Honokohau National Historical Park with both white sand beaches and dramatic black lava landscapes
  • See Hawaiian archaeology, petroglyphs, ancient fishponds, and Hawaiian reconstructed huts
  • See Hawaiian green sea turtles
  • Learn how Kona coffee is grown, harvested and packaged
Saved to wishlist!
Port pickup and drop-off
Bottled water
Professional guide
Lunch (stop is made to purchase at local vendor)
Alcoholic Drinks ( Can be purchased at Kona Brewery)
Optional:Snorkel Gear is available for rent at Turtle Beach. Please also bring towel and bathing suit if you choose this option
Kailua Pier , Kaahumanu Pl, Kailua-Kona, HI 96740, USA

When you get off the ship tender onto the Kona pier please proceed toward the street and go to the large Banyan Tree. Look for guide holding the sign “ C Big Island Tours”. Please plan to be at the designated departure location at least 10-15 minutes before the departure time.

This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Dress comfortable - It is usually hot and sunny
  • If your ship does not arrive due to weather- You will be fully refunded
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Wheelchair - We can accommodate customers with fordable walkers or wheelchair. We must know this information at time of booking. Please note there are some areas and trails that are not accessible by wheelchair or walker.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 24 travelers
  • OPERATED BY C Big Island LLC
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


30 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews
Do not take this tour!
, Aug 2022
Tour was supposed to start 10 am, we left close to 10:30. Some of the places we visited like the first park and first coffee “museum” were a waste of time and then we were taken to a place for lunch that took forever… at the end we were not able to go snorkeling, we ran out of time… worst day in our Hawaii vacation, this tour was the worst way to waste our VERY EXPENSIVE trip to Kona.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Aloha Jorge, sorry you feel that way. Many customers love the park trail walk to the beach and sea turtles. The prior museum is to explain the ancient Hawaiin Fish ponds and other sites. As this is all advertised. Please keep in mind we are doing the best possible with lunch stops for customers. Hawaii has still not fully opened places since Covid. Your reservation was notated, and yes you were able to go snorkeling, but you chose not to thinking you would be late for ship departure. In our 18 years of working with the cruise ship, we have never had anyone back late and we assured you of that as did the manager on the phone. The other customers that did partake in the optional ending made it back without a fuss. Worst day? Really?
Turtles and coffee
, Jul 2022
Kelvin was an excellent guide whose personality enhanced our enjoyment of the Kona experience. He is a natural storyteller and entertainer. We had enough to to view, sample, shop and snap great photos of everything. The turtles were the highlight for sure! The coffee farms were clean and welcoming with samples of a nice variety of products. Lunch was hearty and reasonably priced. Overall, a day well spent.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you Jennifer for sharing your experience. I love going to see the Sea Turtles as well! So glad you enjoyed guide Kelvin ❤
We didnt have a good...
, Jul 2022
We didnt have a good expierience but it wasnt necessarily the tour guides fault. At least 4 out of the 5 stops was closed on our tour date and we were not even offered a partial refund. So I am neutral when it comes to recommenfing this excursion.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Aloha, I know I am so sorry about that. We were requested to open that day for that tour and it was just before the hurricane so a bunch of places closed. The guide was so nervous about trying to add in other possible stops but had a hard time doing so.
Love the trip. Only...
, Jun 2022
Love the trip. Only recommendation is to bring ponchos if traveling in June or rainy months. And wear sneakers! My wedges and flip flops were no good.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
😳 It hardly ever rains in Kona, usually the other side of the island is the rainy side. So glad you still enjoyed all the awesome sites with guide Edmond!
Pass on this excursion
, Jun 2022
This tour information was deceiving. It reads as you’re going to see sea turtles and snorkel getting a chance to maybe see the turtles. However the snorkeling is optional at the end of the tour. You do go to a place to see the turtles and that was great but not what we anticipated. In addition there’s no need to go to two coffee factories. The coffee Farm would’ve been satisfactory. I would not recommend this tour unless you were interested in seeing the Kona side of the island and even then I’m sure there are other excursions that would give you a better variety.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Aloha Allyson, so sorry you felt that way. When we take you up north to see the sea turtles as you noticed it is a beautiful white sand beach followed by black lava. That is not a great place for snorkeling but awesome for sea turtles. At the end of the tour, as we do advertise it is an optional ending. For those who choose snorkeling, it is one of the best reefs we have that is just off the shore and there are still often several sea turtles there. We have considered not going to one of the coffee places.
Coffee tour not a turtle tour
, May 2022
We took this tour to see the green turtles. The guide did not give enough explications on where to meet at the beach nor how long we would be there or when to get back to the bus. We waited for the guide then went looking for him to no avail. Once we got back to the bus the guide critisized me upon my arrival then critisized my wife then other people who arrived late. Once we were on the bus he took the microphone and proceeded to critisize us again. At least 4 people did not see any turtles. We should have spent more time at the beach to see turtles instead of spending all our time at 2 (two different) coffee places, the Greenwell Farms would have been enough. Did not need to go to another one. The Greenwell farms was most informative. My wife was so shaken after her reprimand that she could not eat at the restaurant. This is the first time we were not happy with an excursion through Viator. The guide was Edmond
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Aloha Pierre, thank you for taking the time to speak with me on the phone the other day and I have handled this issue with the guide. Again I'm sorry the other guests got to see the turtles and you did not as I know that was one of the main highlights you wanted to see.
Great time in Kona
, Mar 2020
Great excursion. Guide was extremely knowledgeable. Great viewing of the turtles, Kona Coffee excursion was exceptional as was the tour of the Painted Church, the orchid garden and the lunch stop. Highly recommend this tour.
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Mahalo Barbar for taking the time to leave a review. So glad you enjoyed all the great sights including the turtles!
Waste of time.
, Mar 2020
Waste of a lot of money. Saw no turtles, and 2 coffee factories and a bland mom and pop place for lunch... overpriced .
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Aloha Joyce, that's really odd that you didn't see the turtles....other guests (like Barbara who also left a review) on same tour exclaimed how neat it was to see them. I know we don't grantee turtles but did you know we have had the Sea Turtles on every tour since we have started the tour a few years ago! Sorry to hear you didn't fully enjoy the tour : /
Wonderful tour of kona
, Feb 2020
Drea our tour guide was amazing. Fun and knowledgeable. He took us to an incredible lunch spot. Coffee tour was fun and seeing the turtles in their natural habitat close up was the best.
Kona coffee plantation tour and turtles
, Feb 2020
Had a really lovely day along with 4 other couples. Our driver Edmund was really knowledgable and friendly he picked us up from the pier as we were on a cruise. We stopped off for fish and chips lunchtime which was really good and enjoyed the tours itinerary turtles and coffee.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
Turtles! That's why this tour is one of my personal favorites too. So glad you you enjoyed your guide Edmund and all the beautiful sights. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. That means a lot to us :)
turtles and coffee on the big island
, Oct 2019
I had a great time on the tour with Dre. Got beautiful pix of turtles. Learned a LOT about coffee. Got to see non-touristy big island.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Turtles Turtles Turtles! So glad you got some great pictures of them and enjoyed the yummy Kona coffee with your guide Dre. Thank you for the review
Fun and informative
, Oct 2019
Enjoyable day. Especially like the Painted Church. We got to see Sea Turtles. Coffee plantation tour was very informative. Sampled lots of coffee before I bought. Driver, Edmund, was great.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
The Hawaiian Sea turtles really are a joy to go see! Happy to hear you enjoyed the other sights long with your guide Edmond. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Its much appreciated :)
, Dec 2018
We could have done all the items on this tour on our own. And, to top it off, my friend fell on a trail to the ocean, was hurt and opted to go back to our condo. Obviously, the fall wasn't Viator's fault, but we were denied a refund because they said she was tired and didn't want to continue. Our guide said the trail was .1 mile to the beach but it was closer to a mile. I have been trying to contact them but keep getting a reservation company which cannot help me and doesn't have a number for Viator. All very discouraging and disappointing.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Kona Shore Excursion: Hawaiian Sea Turtles , Historic Kona & Coffee
Kona Shore Excursion: Hawaiian Sea Turtles , Historic Kona & Coffee


5 to 6 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



12 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation



4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation



8 hours

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations