Recent Searches

Are you interested in?

Historical Tours
66 Tours & Activities
Pop Culture
20 Tours & Activities
Old Exchange & Provost Dungeon Tours
24 Tours & Activities

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Charleston Ghosts of Liberty Guided Walking Tour

Charleston, United States

Learn more about our Covid-19 response.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...

icon1 hour 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English


Decide for yourself if Charleston’s ghost stories are true on this haunted after-hours tour of the Holy City. Walk to infamously spooky locations—including the Old Exchange and Provost Dungeon—and hear a mix of history and lore from your guide about soldiers who once fought within the city.
  • Haunted Charleston walking tour
  • Learn about under-the-radar chapters of Charleston history
  • Visit some of the city’s spookiest locations
  • Guide shares historical narratives and ghost stories alike
Saved to wishlist!
In-person guide
Gratuity for your guide

Departure Point

Waterfront, Charleston, SC 29401, USA

Departure Time

9:00 PM

Return Details

Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Ghost City Tours of Charleston

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the maximum group size during Charleston Ghosts of Liberty Guided Walking Tour?
This activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Charleston Ghosts of Liberty Guided Walking Tour.


351 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 351 reviews
What a waste of time
, Dec 2020
Nobody showed for the tour and they’re making it very difficult to get my money back. Customer service keeps passing me back and forth and saying that there’s nothing they can. Not only did they waste my time and money the night of the tour, they continue to do so.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take all reviews very seriously and will address this situation.
Ask for Sara!!
, Oct 2020
This ghost tour was tons of fun! Our guide was a fantastic storyteller. She knew tons about Charleston history but told it in a relatable way. It was like listening to a great history teacher. Sara may have missed her calling:)
icon Response from Host , Dec 2020
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate it and are happy that you had fun on your tour!
Get your stories straight!!
, Sep 2020
One of the most popular things to do in Charleston is to go on an evening ghost tour. I’d already been on one on a previous visit so wanted to bring my family (husband, 23 & 24 years old kids) while we were in town. It’s hard to know what company to reserve with and an even bigger crap-shoot which tour guide you’ll get. The tales we got were different than the ones I’d heard the last time and they were different than what we’d heard the day before on our carriage ride around town, AND they were different than what the other tour guides were saying who were near us! In fact there’s so many tours out and about that it loses its excitement. But it seems like the least thing the tour guides could do is tell the same story about Lavinia Fisher! Our tour guide encouraged us to take multiple pictures to see if we could detect an orb (ghost). Any small blur or lighting glow was a ghost according to him. He had us look at pictures in his phone that were clearly just blurry. There’s really nothing ‘haunted’ you’re going to see on the tours. And what you’ll learn about Charleston’s history depends on your tour guide. I love to be outside at night so it was nice to be out walking around a new area of town. It’s worth going once but good luck getting a tour guide who’s a good story-teller.
Wonderful evening!
, Jul 2020
The city of Charleston is beautiful especially at night. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the history of the places we stopped on our tour. I took my daughter and three grandchildren and they absolutely loved it. I would definitely recommend this tour if you visit the Charleston area!
Great Information!
, Jul 2020
The tour was great! Even though our tour guide had only been doing it a short time she was very knowledgeable. She was able to answer all of our questions.
, Jun 2020
Our guide was good, but was constantly interrupted by a small child who was along on the tour. I felt as if the completely took away from our experience as he didn’t get through a single story without being interrupted with a question. He did show pictures which made the stories come alive. I chose this one because I love American history. The ghosts of liberty made me think we were going to be learning about American history in regard to liberty. That wasn’t the case.
The only thing we wanted to do in Charleston
, Jun 2020
Unfortunately we did not get to go on our tour due to over booking, due to no communication from the company that runs the tour and viator. Tour guide tried to accommodate us but was told our group was too big
Spooky Fun
, Jun 2020
Great experience to break up the eating in Charleston. We had a fantastic tour guide who knew every detail about Charleston’s ghost history. Perfect for the family.
Lots of fun
, May 2020
William was great, extremely knowledgeable about the city and its history and had a good sense of humor and got everyone involved. Would do it again.
They provided a bad address
, Mar 2020
They sent us the wrong address for our tour. We showed up to the address that was provided on time. I'm currently disputing it and I'm waiting on a response. If they help us I will update this review.

Product code: 119797P1

Explore Similar Things to Do