Recent Searches
Clear

Joanina Library & University of Coimbra VIP ACCESS!

star-4.514 Reviews
|
Coimbra, Portugal
Joanina Library & University of Coimbra VIP ACCESS!

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon1 hour 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

The University of Coimbra is the oldest university in Portugal, and one of the oldest in Europe. Join a former student and explore the grounds of the school, learning about the centuries-old history, traditions, and secrets. Walk around campus and visit St. Michael’s Chapel, the St. Sebastian Aqueduct, and conclude at the stunning Joanina Libary.
  • Visit a UNESCO World Heritage Site—the University of Coimbra
  • A private tour guide ensures a personalized experience
  • Learn about the unique student traditions of the school
  • Upgrade your tour to include a customized itinerary
Saved to wishlist!
All Fees and Taxes
Coffee and/or Tea
Snacks
Praça Dom Dinis , Praça Dom Dinis, 3000-393 Coimbra, Portugal

Meeting in Front of D. Dinis Statue, at the University of Coimbra.

6:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY GO! Walks Portugal
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Joanina Library & University of Coimbra VIP ACCESS!?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Joanina Library & University of Coimbra VIP ACCESS!.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Joanina Library & University of Coimbra VIP ACCESS!?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Joanina Library & University of Coimbra VIP ACCESS!.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Joanina Library & University of Coimbra VIP ACCESS!?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Joanina Library & University of Coimbra VIP ACCESS!.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Joanina Library & University of Coimbra VIP ACCESS!?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Joanina Library & University of Coimbra VIP ACCESS!.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
14 Reviews
3 stars
0
2 stars
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-5 of 14 reviews
star-1
You mean other than the...
Ross_T
, Jun 2022
You mean other than the guide telling us they weren’t available for the tour the morning of the tour while we were driving to Coinbra???? Yeah other than getting stiffed last minute it was great.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Mr Ross, first of all let me say that I am very disappointed with such comments considering I did everything I could to solve the situation in a timely and respectful manner. I am sorry that I couldn't guide you on my hometown, as I am always sorry to refuse tour requests considering my life in the past 10 years has been exclusively dedicated to promote and help project my city Coimbra and the region. This is something that you certainly have understood by reading other people's comments when searching for a guide, people who have in fact known me in person and had the chance to witness the passion and commitment that I put in my work. Explaining what happened: I received a reservation request from you late at night on the 29th of May 2022. When I woke up the next morning, 30th of May 2022, I had seen that someone was trying to call me at 9:12am and I replied straight ahead saying I couldn't pick up the phone but to text me please. You've answered at 9.24am saying "Good morning. We are leaving Porto this morning and will be in Coimbra sometime around 12:00. Where will we meet you?". I had then seen your reservation request through viator platform, understood what happened and answered at 9:29am, once again, right after, saying "I am sorry, I am no longer available for today. Will you be here tomorrow at 2.30pm? If you are not able to join this tour tomorrow, your reservation will be cancelled and refunded. Sorry for any inconvenience." to which you have replied also at 9:29am only "No thanks.". What I can take from your expected arrival schedule is that you weren't IN or DRIVING TO Coimbra yet when you texted me (considering this town is 1h drive from Porto), and you wanted me to refund you. If you had spoken to me and explained you were already on your way and only had a few hours here, I would gladly give you my colleagues' contacts in order to see if someone was able to welcome you on my behalf. I have done this with other people before, and everything went fine. My phone number is available on whatsapp and I am always happy to chat with travelers and help them out in any ways I can. I have proceeded with the refund of your tour on same day. I would like to say that I have also spoken with viator assistance team and now all my reservations need to go through "manual confirmation" from my behalf, instead of "instant confirmation" so that this kind of situation doesn't happen again. Anyway, regardless of how uncomfortable this situation is to me because of your rude behaviour and lack of humbleness in dealing with the situation, I hope that you had the chance to get to know my hometown and fell in love for it - because it's indeed one of the most incredible places in the Country that I will gladly keep on promoting for the rest of my life. All the best, Sara Cruz
star-5
Our guide Renan was...
Suzanne_H
, May 2022
Our guide Renan was wonderful. His wealth of knowledge was very impressive. Taking this Small group tour is worth it
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you very much for the feedback - we really appreciate it :) You're welcome back anytime! All the best!
star-4
Grandeur of the past.
Margie_M
, May 2022
Most memorable is the general deplorabele state of parts of the building. But luckily one van still see the intended grandeur
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello Margie, I am sorry I didn't understand your feedback comments. The University Royal Palace is currently being restored and will be ready in one year :) anyway it is possible to visit it during this time and it is an important historical building! The Joanina Library and Chapel are already restored and super well preserved. I would like to hear a comment about the service: information provided, if you enjoyed your time with us and suggestions on how to improve. Thank you very much!
star-5
Superb Coimbra University and small street tour
John_o
, Apr 2022
Sara was a terrific host. Really enjoyed the tour itself but her enthusiasm for Coombes University made the tour exceptional. You could feel how much the university and the City meant to her as a student and now.
star-5
A”must see” in Portugal
Elizabeth_Z
, Jul 2021
Truly one of the most spectacular libraries in the world and worth the trip. Our guide was excellent, providing information and details about the building, history and the collection itself.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Thank you very much for your feedback, it was great letting you know about the University of Coimbra and its beautiful history and famous sites such as Joanina Library. You're welcome back anytime! All the best!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Joanina Library & University of Coimbra VIP ACCESS!
Joanina Library & University of Coimbra VIP ACCESS!

star-4.514

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$17.00

star-5109

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$44.63

star-31

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$31.88

star-525

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$36.13

star-53

1 hour 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$27.63

star-00

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$31.88

star-530

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$22.98

star-531

2 hours 10 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$60.57
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations