Recent Searches

Full-Day West Crete Tour from Heraklion

Heraklion, Greece
Full-Day West Crete Tour from Heraklion

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon10 hours  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
iconOffered in: English and 3 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Although Heraklion is the perfect base to see Crete’s cultural and architectural heritage, it’s not the only part of Crete that is worthy of a visit. On this full-day tour, discover two of the prettiest cities in Western Crete, Chania and Rethymno. Learn all about the diversity of Heraklion’s heritage, including its Venetian, Ottoman, Byzantine and ancient Greek influences.
  • Conveniently join this tour outside your Heraklion hotel
  • Avoid the hassle of hiring a car and driving on Cretan back-roads
  • Spend less time planning your trip and more time researching Cretan history
  • Your guides share Cretan history and suggest what to do at each stop
Saved to wishlist!
Information about the island and the route during the bus ride
Pick-up from your hotel (at the specific tourist bus stop, outside of the hotel)
Transfer with air-conditioned bus
Entrance fees to museums/sights, individual expenses.

Departure Point

Heraklion, Greece

Pick-up from the bus stop next to your hotel. From Agia Pelagia, Analipsi, Anissaras, Gouves, Gournes, Carteros, Kokkini Hani, Malia, Sissi, Stalida, Hersonissos and other resort villages of the Heraklion region. After booking we will contact you to arrange the pick-up.

Departure Time

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
West Crete - Pick-up Area 2
10/17/2021 - 11/15/2021
Wednesday:06:30 AM - 09:00 AM
Saturday:06:30 AM - 09:00 AM
4/15/2022 - 11/15/2022
Tuesday - Wednesday:07:00 AM - 09:00 AM
West Crete - Pick-up Area 1
10/18/2021 - 11/15/2021
Wednesday:07:00 AM - 09:00 AM
Saturday:07:00 AM - 09:00 AM
4/15/2022 - 11/15/2022
Tuesday - Wednesday:07:00 AM - 09:00 AM
West Crete - Pick-up Area 3
4/15/2022 - 11/15/2022
Friday:06:00 AM - 08:30 AM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travelers can participate
  • If an infant does not sit on lap in the bus, It is necessary to pay a child ticket.
  • Pick-up from the specific bus stops next to the hotels. From Area 1: all the villages between Fodele, Agia Pelagia, Xeropotamos(West Heraklion), Area 2: Heraklion Center and East, Carteros, Kokkini Hani, Gouves, Gournes, Hersonissos, Stalida, Malia, Sissi.
  • After booking we will contact you to arrange the pick-up. Please, note, if you do not provide your pick-up details up to 24 hours before the tour, we do not guarantee the pick-up. For pick-up from different location, please, contact us.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Status MLB Travel Agency
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


44 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews
, Oct 2019
First we've gone to wrong bus to a medical covention, but after phoning the agency, a very helpful, kind and amazing female in the agency took us in her car and drove overc140kph to allow us to catch our bus. She didn't even tell us her name. All thanks and respects wouldn't be enough. Next our guide was fluent in three languages and informed us of all historical places all over the trip. Great tour and wonderful guide
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
We are glad when we can help our travelers if any problem arises. Thank you very much for your kind words and we hope to see you again in Crete! All the best, Status MLB Team
Not worth taking this tour
, Aug 2019
I would suggest not going on this tour as you are bunched with a whole group of people speaking different languages and it takes the guide a while to explain everything in 3 different languages. You are given a very little time to explore each place. Not advisable if you have young children or teens.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2019
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your opinion. We try to change the system, and there are already buses (3 times per week) equipped with earphones, so that each traveler listens only his language during the ride. Hopefully, soon all our tours will be like this. However, regarding the time given to explore each place, it is clearly stated in the tour description that it is 1,5 hour in each location. Unfortunately, because Heraklion region is quite far, if it would be more time, travelers would be back home late at night,and then this tour would be even more tiring. We still hope you enjoyed your time! Kind regards, Status MLB Team
Long day with little time in each location
, Jun 2019
This is a long trip - 12 hours for us and we were not the first pickup. It is a long way with a poor english guide who sighed a lot and sounded completely bored with the excursion. Rethymno is beautiful and worth a visit on it's own, Lake Kournas - there is no swimming just pedlos and a cafe. It is difficult to get a good view of the lake for the cafe and power lines - only a 45 minute stop here but this was plenty. Chania was nice but having to fit in lunch here didn't leave much time for wandering around. I wouldn't do this trip from Hersonosis - too much distance and time on the road for very little time in each place, perhaps just do them one at a time and miss out the lake.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Thank you very much for your review! Unfortunately, Hersonissos, Malia and Elounda are very far from the West Crete and so long ride in the bus can be indeed very tiring. Regarding the tour guide, we have got several complains for the same specific guide these days and we have already taken measures. We will do our best to improve our service. We hope you still enjoyed your day! All the best, Status MLB Team
memorable crete
, Jun 2019
overall a nice overview of the island with enough time to explore. only wish the driver and guide would talk less to eachother.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Dear Mr.Ajjikuttira, Thank you so much for your review! We are glad your enjoyed the tour and we will talk to our drivers/guides. All the best wished to you. Kind regards, Status MLB Team
Ghastly doesn't even come close
, Jun 2019
What an unmitigated disaster. What a rip-off. Run by the most clueless and disorganized bunch of people ever. It started with them not reaching us to pick us up. When we called, they told us that we weren't at the "arranged pick up point". However, we had been given clear instructions, in writing, about where we were to wait and we had followed those to the letter. Well, they finally rolled up about an hour late. It was never going to get better. This is just a bus drop to various places, and that is all. Our "guide" was a Russian lady who couldn't string together more than four words in English, and didn't attempt to. We were just bussed to Rethymnion and Chania, and herded out, told to amuse ourselves and be back on time for the next bus journey. I could have used the local buses for half the price and one quarter the aggravation. And saved enough to get a decent tour guide. Do NOT fall for this scam. Unusual for a Viator booking, but hey, there you have it.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. Since you do not specify your booking number or identify yourself, we may only guess, what has happened. However, we would like to clarify some points: - We are sorry if you had to wait at the pick-up location. We are sure though that it could not be more than 10-15 minutes, because otherwise you would just miss the tour bus, which has strict schedule. - All our guides have excellent command of English language and are certified by the Ministry of Culture. Every tourist gets earphones in the bus and listens to the tour in the preferred language, during all the bus ride. - The Russian lady just transferred you to the tour bus, where the excursion starts, so that you do not need to walk or take taxi from your hotel. - The program of the tour is clearly specified in the description. The information is provided during the bus ride, and you enjoy your free time during the stops. - Next time you still can try a local bus from Heraklion to Chania and back at the price of 30,20 euro per person. You can also hire a certified guide for the price of 300 euro. Note, that taking the amateur guide for the city walk with historical heritage (like Chania or Rethymno) is illegal and a subject to a fine in Greece. Wish you all the best. Regards, the most clueless and disorganized bunch of people.
Crete at its best
, Jun 2019
West coast day trip of Crete .I found it very informative and well explained by the guide. The long drive was compensated by ample time in the different stops in picturesque harbours. Recommended to those interested in the natural beauty especially the natural fresh water lakes.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Thank you so much for your review, David! We are glad that you liked the excursion. Visit Crete again! All the best, Status MLB Team
May day tour
, Jun 2019
The tour was well organised and we were very impressed with the guides command of at least three languages. The tour itself was very good but very busy because of the May day holiday. But all in all a good tour and well organised and we didn't lose out because of a long hold up as part of the road had fallen away on our route to Lake Kournas. Unfortunately it rained in Rethymno so we couldn't make the most of our free time, but that's life.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2019
Thank you for your review! We are happy you enjoyed your time. Kind regards, Status MLB Team
Tibia experiencia
, Aug 2020
Los lugares a visitar estaban bien, si bien pasamos poco tiempo en ellos. El lago Kournas sobra. Los buses tuvieron problemas con el aire acondicionado. La guía, si bien hizo de ciceron en las ciudades, en sus explicaciones su tono carecía de emoción alguna.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2020
Dear Sir, Thank you for the review, we will make sure the air-conditioning systems will be checked. We hope you still enjoyed your time! Best regards, Status MLB Team
Beaucoup de temps pour peu à voir.
, Oct 2019
Nous avions hâte de faire cette excursion. Nous avons pris l’autobus à 20 minutes à pied de notre hôtel vers 8h30 le matin. La « run de lait » ( ramassage des gens dans différents hôtels) s’est prolongée durant plus de 2 heures. L’autobus à 2 étages était bondée. Nous aurions sans doute plus apprécier les 3 endroits de visites s’il y avait eu plus de commentaires que simplement nous indiquer où aller chercher une carte et où reprendre le car. Sur 12 heures d’excursions nous avons été laissé à nous même près de 4 heures. Le reste se résume à une promenade dans un bus surchargé.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, it is a long ride in order to see the West Crete, so especially people who get in the bus in the very beginning of the route have to be very long time in the bus. This is the only schedule, however, in order to visit all the 3 highlights of West Crete. We still hope you enjoyed your time. Kind regards, Status MLB Team
Super expérience
, Sep 2019
La guide était très sympathique, légère déception au lac, où il y avait à peine le temps de manger. Sinon tous les lieux étaient vraiment à faire !
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Thank you very much for your review!

Compare Similar Experiences

Full-Day West Crete Tour from Heraklion
Full-Day West Crete Tour from Heraklion


10 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



9 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



14 hours

Free Cancellation



13 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours 5 minutes

Free Cancellation



12 hours

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do