Recent Searches
Clear

Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

|
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Explore beautiful Strasbourg and the majestic Black Forest on this 10-hour tour from Frankfurt. You’ll first stop in the spa town of Baden-Baden deep in the Schwartzwald, where you’ll take a guided tour, learn about the famous thermal baths and see landmarks like Kurhaus Casino. Then traverse the German-French border to visit the Alsatian City of Strasbourg. Take some free time take explore key sites like 'La Petite France,' Strasbourg’s UNESCO-listed old town center.
  • 10-hour trip from Frankfurt to the Black Forest and Strasbourg
  • Get more value for the money with a combo sightseeing tour of top French and German attractions
  • Take a guided walking tour of Baden-Baden
  • Admire the unspoiled beauty of Lake Mummelsee
  • Explore Strasbourg independently, seeing landmarks ‘La Petite France’ and the Strasbourg Cathedral
  • Travel by comfortable coach from Frankfurt
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Air-conditioned vehicle
Canal boat ride OR petit train ride in Strasbourg
Gratuities
Food and drinks, unless specified
Wiesenhüttenpl. 38 , Wiesenhüttenpl. 38, 60329 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Departure at 09:30 am at the bus stop in front of the Le Meridien Hotel, Wiesenhuettenplatz 38 in Frankfurt

9:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Audioguide in several languages available on request
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • Infants and children must sit in a child seat, which means they need a separate seat, no matter which age (legal regulation)
  • We can carry foldable wheelchairs with us
  • Please bring passports with you
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY ETS-Frankfurt
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Black Forest and Strasbourg Day Trip from Frankfurt.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.0
star-4
154 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 154 reviews
star-4
Baden Baden is a quaint...
Richard_M
, May 2022
Baden Baden is a quaint town. The black forest is a nice break. Food was delicious especially the BLACK FOREST CAKE! Strasbourg was not so nice with the street people bedding down and their dogs confronting the tourists and other four-legged friends.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Beautiful and magnificent buildings in Strasbourg
Au_K
, Dec 2021
This was a wonderful trip. Strasbourg is a beautiful city with so many magnificent buildings. There was just too little time in Strasbourg to even experience Alsatian cuisine. Baden Baden was a pretty little town. Again there was too little time. I would suggest that Strasbourg be made a tour on its own and Baden Baden and Black Forest another tour on its own.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
The tour bus simply did...
Ronald_G
, Oct 2021
The tour bus simply did not arrive, neither did any guide. Now, this lousy company is refusing to refund my money. This is an outrage and an absolute disgrace
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
To finalize this lengthy conversation about this tour: Fact is that the tour guide could not get hold of the customer. Fact is that the customer never ever contacted us on the morning of his tour departure although our phone number is on his voucher. We herewith ask VIATOR to refund him in total to shelter the good name of VIATOR. We are waiving any charges. We will not tolerate further insults. ETS / General Management
star-5
A fun day with a funny guide
Teri_Y
, Dec 2019
Although it was a long trip, the time went by quickly because of our funny and knowledgeable guide, Willi. He kept us laughing while also sharing a lot of interesting information throughout the day. We walked through the beautiful town of Baden Baden, visited to Black Forest (and ate Black Forest cake!) then on to Strasbourg for a Christmas market!!
star-4
Good
Naveen D
, Dec 2019
Peter was waiting with a car to take us on the trip. Peter was great and he had great knowledge regarding the area but the whole time it was raining. So couldn't enjoy it as much as we wanted to. Black Forest was foggy most of the time but the time where we could see as much, it was beautiful. Strasbourg was beautiful. The christmas decorations were the best. City was lively and colorful.
star-5
Best day trip
43migueld
, Sep 2019
We had limited time on our trip and this is definitely the best trip on short time. It is a long day though, but totally worth it!
star-4
A long day but worth it overall
DrBarbara_C
, Aug 2019
A lot of driving and the weather was not entirely with us but Andre did a good job of commentary and driving (very fast) on the autobahn. Baden-Baden was pretty and interesting. Black Forest and Mummelsee disappointing in the rain, but Strasbourg was beatiful even in the rain.
star-5
amazing
Gerard_S
, Jul 2019
A day well spent .our guide was friendly and the areas that we visited even for a short period were memorable .
star-5
Trip Review
Inspire05660283192
, Jul 2019
This was an excellent day trip! Our tour guide,Peter, made this a special day. He was extremely knowledgeable,patient and helpful. He did not rush any of us in the group and took extra time to answer questions and be helpful. I highly recommend this trip. Thank you again Peter.
star-1
This trip was disappointing because...
Anna_B
, Aug 2018
This trip was disappointing because our tour guide decided that it was so hot yes, Europe is having a heat wave that we should spend more time at Mummelsee because at the higher elevation it's cooler. We spent more that an hour at Mummelsee and that left very little time to see Strasbourg which is really the highlight of the trip. At Strasbourg the tour-guide/driver paid a tram-tour driver for us to ride for about 45 minutes with headphones through the city. We could not take photos because the tram-tour thing is a bumpy ride and it never stops and the headphone tape is not in sync with the tram-tour. After the tram-tour we had about 15 minutes to walk around - barely enough time to buy any souvenirs. The stop in Baden Baden was just mainly to use the bathroom and see a bunch of expensive shops and we didn't get a chance to even buy postcards. The mini-van we went in was nice. The lunch was two slices of bread with a slice of pickle and two slices of salami.
star-5
Wow! Wow! Wow! This tour was...
Sriyantha_J
, May 2018
Wow! Wow! Wow! This tour was seriously amazing!! I want to do it again. Peter, our tour guide was so accommodating and knowledgeable. We had a great time. Strasbourg is so pretty and charming. This was wonderful tour to do if you have short time in Frankfurt.
star-5
This was a wonderful day trip. It...
Lara H
, May 2018
This was a wonderful day trip. It is a bit of a drive to Strasbourg from Frankfurt but we loved our time there. We had a quick tour and then had close to an hour to wander on our own. Our tour guide provided a great mix between keeping us organized and letting us explore on our own. The black forest was also beautiful and has a lovely restaurant with a patio overlooking the lake. Baden-Baden was less interesting to me but our guide walked us through and gave us lots of information about the place so it was still a worthwhile stop Our tour guide, Boris, was really great and had bottles of water to offer us and made sure the van was comfortable for our drive. He even dropped us off near our hotel so we could avoid extra travel time.
star-3
It wasn't a very good experience for...
Oksana_K
, Apr 2018
It wasn't a very good experience for me. I was with my son.The tour guide and driver Boris was ok. He was knowledgeable and informative. Boris gave useful tips on what to do in the Frankfurt area. We had a good walk through the Baden Baden. We stopped for lunch in the picturesque spot on the Black forest. That was nice. But it was less than 2 hours in Strasbourg. Felt very short. Also the trip was in the small white bus. It accomodated 7 people, two of us and and a group of the people from India, who were drinking alcohol and loudly talked in their language. By the end of the trip I had a headache because of them. That was most unpleasant. The tour guide didn't say a word to to them to respect the other people in the tour.
star-4
It is a value for money trip to see...
Velda_L
, Mar 2018
It is a value for money trip to see 3 places in a day. But the journey from one destination to another is too long and this had affected our time spent in the individual places. Also, do not book this tour on a Sunday if you are keen to do a little shopping as the shops are mostly closed. If there is a tour to Strasbourg only, just take that. It is more beautiful compared to Black Forest or Baden Baden. The elderly Guide was very informative and helpful.
star-5
Amazing guide with lods of info to give...
FAISAL A
, Jan 2018
Amazing guide with lods of info to give even outside the tour plan.
star-5
This tour was a fun way to see...
pepshi8
, Dec 2017
This tour was a fun way to see Germany and France during a quick trip. The tour guide was pleasant and not the usual typy that drones on about historical facts you will never remember afterwards. He gave some history and talked about personal insights on living in Germany. Even on a cold rainy day, it was a great time!
star-5
Though it was a long day ,it was...
cathyellis55
, Nov 2017
Though it was a long day ,it was well worth it and our driver / guide Larry, was wonderful , competent , caring and just enough commentary .Loved Strasbourg but would've liked a bit longer to explore on foot. In the late autumn/ winter you can't see much from the little train especially when its raining. A walking tour maybe would've been better. Baden Baden could be missed to add time in Strasbourg as there wasn't much there of interest and who really wants to see a casino ? The Black Forest was beautiful, autumn scenery amazing and the village stop at the top, perfect. Just got to see enough before the fog came. It was a good idea to go to Strasbourg first because it would've been dark if it was last at this time of the year, which would not have worked. Some of our most treasured photos of our trip were from this day. Definitely avoid summer if u don't like crowds. October would be perfect as there would be autumn scenery and less people and chance of rain. Just go !
star-5
Strasbourg is a city to visit! With...
Suzelle B
, Nov 2017
Strasbourg is a city to visit! With so much history and its colourful architecture. The tour was personalized, as we were only 6 with the guide who could relate to the history of the city. Baden Baden was exceptional with its rich houses and Casion, The Black forest was interesting in terms of its tree composition and the origine of its name.
star-5
This is a terrific tour to say the...
MALLIKA H
, Oct 2017
This is a terrific tour to say the least. I arrived at the Greenline office near Frankfurt HBF at 9:20 AM and met with the Tour guide Boris. He was friendly, knowledgeable and knew the route well. Realised it was a small gang, when I saw just one more family on the bus. This made the experience even more personal. Since we all had similar tastes, it was easy to decide on wine tastingThe Reisling at the Black Forest. Strasbourg is straight out of a picture book and so is the Black Forest!!! The weather was awesome on 14 Oct 2017 and this made the trip unforgettable!! You are back in Frankfurt by 8:30 PM or 20:30 hrs. Your eyes will thank you for the trip you took! Book it with no second thoughts!!!!!
star-4
The group is of cozy 10 pax size...
Irene_C
, Oct 2017
The group is of cozy 10 pax size. The driver guide trying his best to beat the rainy weather and bring us the best out of the weather. Visit to the Black Forest is just in one of the small town in it and expected not the trees coverage the pathway which gives its name Black Forest. The visit to Strasbroug is wonderful. Thank you so much to the tireless driver guide.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations