Recent Searches
Clear

Kandy to Ella Train Tickets - Reserved Seats (Blue Train)

star-4.560 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Kandy to Ella Train Tickets - Reserved Seats (Blue Train)

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon3 to 7 hours  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Travel through Sri Lanka like a local—by train—to take in the sights on your journey. Departing from Kandy, the journey to Badulla (Ella) is considered one of the country's most scenic journeys, and departs twice per day to fit your schedule. If you choose Nanu Oya, the train departs in the afternoon. Second or third class tickets include reserved seats.
  • Private tour for your party only
  • Train tickets included
  • Travel by rail to enjoy the scenery
  • 2nd or 3rd class compartment seating
Saved to wishlist!
All Fees and Taxes
  • Kandy , William Gopallawa Mawatha, Kandy, Sri Lanka

    We will hand over the tickets to you on the previous day or by 6.00 am of the travel date. We can send them across to your hotel in Kandy or we can communicate and meet in Kandy and hand over the tickets. Train Departure Times : 8.47 am and 11.10 am

  • Peradeniya Railway Station , 2040, Peradeniya Rd, Kandy, Sri Lanka

    Train leaves at 9.00 am starting from Peradeniya station (it's next to Kandy) and if you are given a ticket from 9.00 am train we offer you complimentary transfer service to Peradeniya station from your hotel.

  • This activity ends in a different location. See details below:
  • Nanuoya , Avissawella - Hatton - Nuwara Eliya Hwy, Nanuoya 22150, Sri Lanka

    This is the place to get down for the passengers those who want to go to Nuwaraeliya. Train reaches Nuwaraleiya station either at 12.38 pm or 3.15 pm depending on the train you took from Kandy Nuwaraeliya to Ella train times : 12.38 pm , 3.15 pm

  • Ella , Wellawaya-Ella-Kumbalwela Highway, Ella, Sri Lanka

    Train continues to go upto Badulla as it's the end of the journey. People who are planing to go to Ella should get down at this station. Train reaches Ella at 3.15 pm or 5.45 pm depending on the train you took from Kandy.

  • Badulla Railway Station , Badulla, Sri Lanka

    This is the last station of this train.

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Near public transportation
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
    • Surfaces are wheelchair accessible
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
    • OPERATED BY Mahaweli Tours and Holidays
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.


    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Reviews

    4.5
    star-4.5
    60 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-6 of 60 reviews
    star-1
    Viator = scam
    Brieuc_P
    , May 2022
    Viator is a scam. Our 34€ ticket was never refunded even though the ticket could never be paid because of the current social problems. No response to my messages. I strongly advise against using this application, no after sales service.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Dear Sir / Madam, I think you have posted your review under a wrong business. If you have faced any issue with viator, you should post the review in their business page. We Mahaweli Tours and Holidays work with Viator as a supplier only. We can not take responsibility for the actions of viator. I assume you have a problem with receiving the refund from viator for a cancelled trip. Normally viator processes refunds without any delays if you follow the steps correctly. Kindly contact them through their customer care chat service. You will receive a response from them for sure. Thank you.
    star-5
    A must do in Sri Lanka
    ibibalj
    , May 2022
    Had a great time on the train from Kandy to Ella - it was great to see Sri Lanka’s beauty during the 6 hour journey. Everyone is looking out of the window for a reason! There are vendors selling refreshments so you won’t be short and the rail staff are helpful getting bags on and off and also letting you know which coach you are in. Mahaweli Tours and Holidays helped us sort the tickets and dropped them off to the hotel in a timely manner and were also on hand to help out with questions we had about the journey!
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Dear Madam, Greetings from Sri Lanka. Thank you so much for spending your valuable time to share your review with us. Nice to hear that you have enjoyed the train ride from Kandy to Ella. It was a pleasure to support you in reserving train tickets.Looking forward to meet you again. Stay blessed :)
    star-4
    Good communication and tickets delivered as promised
    Caitlin_F
    , Mar 2022
    I was able to communicate with the company through WhatsApp straight after purchasing my ticket right through until departing on the train. The ticket was delivered on the day of travel at 7am and was a reserved 2nd class seat. Much more relaxing train journey than if I'd gone unreserved.
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Dear Madam, Greetings from Sri Lanka. Thank you so much for spending your valuable time to share your review with us. Nice to hear that you have enjoyed the train ride from Kandy to Ella. It was a pleasure to support you in reserving train tickets. Looking forward to meet you again. Stay blessed :)
    star-2
    No so good
    Quattrocchi_G
    , Mar 2022
    inefficient agency, I had to contact them several times to receive the train ticket. I received the ticket 2 hours before departure
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
    Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you very much for making the reservation with us. But we are surprised to see your low rated review even when we have delivered what you ordered as explained in the product. We have our standard procedures of doing things and those can not be changed on individual requests. You can contact us any number of times. But still we will be delivering as per the schedule and which we have clearly mentioned. Sorry for not being able to change the schedule on individual requests which we explained to you clearly. Thank you.
    star-3
    Good only if you are short on time
    Kathleen_E
    , Mar 2022
    Good last resort if you’re in a time pinch. The train tickets from the station are only R400 so if you plan ahead, you can pay that price. The company promised to deliver it the night before departure and didn’t end up handing it to me until 6AM the day of departure. So if you are an anxious person, this might not be the best route. However I did get a reserved seat as promised.
    icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
    Dear Ms Kathlee, Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts and experience here. Yes. Tickets are available at the station at the face price for anybody who can buy the tickets 30 days prior to the travel date. Otherwise you can buy unreserved tickets at anytime at the station and it's not guaranteed that you receive the tickets. For the reservations we receive in advance we deliver the tickets on the previous day to to the hotel. But for the reservations received just few days prior to the travel date, tickets will be delivered on the same day by 6.00 am and we always inform the customers about it and we do it as promise. Once again thank you very much for choosing us and happy to hear that you made the scenic train journey as planned.
    star-4
    Because of the local...
    Thierry_S
    , Feb 2022
    Because of the local holidays, all trains were booked but Mahaweli Tours obtained tickets and delivered them to our hotel ... in the neighbouring city. Very nice and efficient. The train ride was, as expected, smooth and spectacular!
    icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
    Dear Sir/Madam, Thank you so much for sharing your nice feedback with us. It as a great pleasure to serve you. Nice to hear that you enjoyed the train ride. We really happy about it. Thank you so much for reserving train tickets via us. Stay blessed. Take care.

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Kandy to Ella Train Tickets - Reserved Seats (Blue Train)
    Kandy to Ella Train Tickets - Reserved Seats (Blue Train)

    star-4.560

    3 to 7 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $18.00

    star-00

    N/A

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $24.00

    star-00

    N/A

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $32.87

    star-3.57

    N/A

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $34.56

    star-51

    7 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $25.00

    star-00

    7 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $34.56
    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations