Recent Searches
Clear

Ultimate Lake Tahoe Self-Driving Audio Tour

|
South Lake Tahoe, United States
Ultimate Lake Tahoe Self-Driving Audio Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon3 to 5 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Get to know Lake Tahoe while keeping your eyes on the road and the magnificent scenery with a self-guided audio tour designed for listening in your own car. Many of Tahoe's natural and historic treasures are tucked away, but this downloadable smartphone app will take you to must-see locations and hidden gems. Start and stop the tour whenever you like, and explore Tahoe at your own pace.
  • Fun and flexible way to make the most of your time in Lake Tahoe
  • Learn Tahoe trivia and history as you drive to different landmarks
  • Low price for the budget-friendly app is per car
  • App never expires and can be launched and paused any time
Saved to wishlist!
Live GPS Map
Works Offline
Audios, Images, and Text
Family-friendly
Flexible Planning
Email, Chat, Call Support
Entrance Ticket
Vehicle Rental
Food, Drinks & Parking
4118 Lake Tahoe Blvd , 4118 Lake Tahoe Blvd, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150, USA

After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection.

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
3/18/2020 - 7/10/2023
Monday - Sunday:06:00 AM - 11:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • No expiration — The tour comes with lifetime validity!
  • Most travelers can participate
  • After booking the tour, please make sure that you have downloaded the app and the tour in advance. For the best experience, we advise doing this while you have a strong internet connection.
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY 17 Mile Day Trips
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Ultimate Lake Tahoe Self-Driving Audio Tour?
A:The policy on face masks and attendee health is:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Ultimate Lake Tahoe Self-Driving Audio Tour.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "This was much better(and less expensive) than a personally guided tour because we could do it at our own pace and stop whenever we wanted for as long as we wanted." See review
  • "You sometimes need to watch the map for the numbers as occasionally it didn't play and we went to list and played manually." See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
60 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 60 reviews
star-5
Don't drive Lake Tahoe without this app!
Melissa_S
, Jun 2022
This was a great value and enhanced our visit tremendously. The narrator is triggered by your GPS location so you always know what you are viewing, a bit of history and fun facts and your options to get a closer look. I downloaded the entire app before our trip to make it available offline, even with no cell service. It worked perfectly. I highly recommend this audio tour!
star-4
Do this with people you like...
Stephen_F
, Jun 2022
Great way to spend some time with family in the car. Enjoyed the stories. Maybe it was me, but at some points of the tour, it was difficult to stop and look at what he was talking about.
star-5
Awesome experience!!
Belinda_Y
, Jun 2022
This is a must!!! The water and scenery is incredible!! The tour guides were awesome !!! The Best 2 hours spent here!!!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Blushing!! Thank you! I couldn’t imagine a better review :) I hope you try out my other self-guided tours on your future travels!
star-5
Really fun
Terrie_L
, Jun 2022
Lots of fun. Very informative. We really enjoyed our tour! Thanks for a great time. Will use again in the future.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Yay, thanks Terrie! Lake Tahoe has so much to offer and I’m glad my tour helped make sure you heard and saw it all. Hope you like my other tours too!
star-1
Disaster from Beginning to End
David_E
, Jun 2022
This was an unmitigated disaster in every conceivable way. There was absolutely nothing that was redeeming in this totally useless "tour." The "starting point" address that was initially given was wrong. When we arrived, we asked a merchant if we were at the right location & he said that they get "so many" people mistakenly thinking that is the right location, but it is not. I got on tech support with Viator & the person trying to help me could barely speak understandable English. When she finally gave us (what she thought) was the correct starting point, it was about 0.9 miles from the location that we were initially given. So was the one she gave accurate, or was it the initial one? We really don't know. BUT THEN, when we actually started the "tour" nothing lined up. The narrator spoke about things that were nowhere to be seen, or they were miles ahead, or miles behind us. Nothing seemed to be coordinated - and it is not just because we may have started in the wrong place. Everything that the narrator spoke about cost money (and he didn't even give an accurate price). Each of the "beach" locations cost $10 if you drove your car down to it. That is ridiculous. We were so frustrated with your useless tour that we didn't even finish it. If you had any integrity at all, you would refund my $10 that I paid for this useless excuse for a tour.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi David, I’m sorry about your experience! Allow me to address your issues: Starting point — the original is correct but when someone struggles with finding it (it’s in a popular area), we recommend another spot that’s close by and easier to navigate. 99% of the time, one of these two works in getting someone driving. Stories lining up — my stories are designed to give some history/background BEFORE the spot arrives. I explain this in the audio and point out that the actual attraction will become visible once the story is nearing the end. This gives visitors enough time to decide if they want to stop there or not. Prices — yes, many Tahoe attractions cost money. I have no control over their choices but they’re beautiful spots and anyone who takes my tour deserves to at least know about them. I identify what is paid vs free beforehand and visitors stop only if they want to. A few small price changes have occurred this season but none are majorly wrong. I’d be more than happy to exchange your tour for another one. They all work the same way (audio stories play automatically as you drive/walk along a route). Let me know!
star-4
The only issue we had was...
Brian_W
, Jun 2022
The only issue we had was in beginning of the tour when it was confusing for us as to how to back and forth between the audio and the maps. After a little while we got it.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Thanks so much Brian! It can be surprising the first time an audio story pops up over the map — I’m glad it made sense once you guys continued driving! I have a number of other self-guided tours across the country that I hope you check out on future vacations.
star-5
Great tour!
Kris_H
, May 2022
We really enjoyed this tour! Our hotel was on the north side of Lake Tahoe, so we were hoping to be able to start it from our location instead of the South Lake Tahoe starting point. I called customer service and was basically told that starting from a different point wasn’t advisable. So, we drove 30 minutes to the starting point and began our tour. Loved it! I’m glad we can do it again in the future because we plan to come back!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thanks Kris! I’m thrilled you enjoyed my tour! We generally do recommend beginning from the given starting location because the storytelling builds on itself and it’s easier to get used to how the self-guided nature of the tour works. Now that you know the tour, you can use it however you’d like on your future visits (it’s valid forever). I’m so glad that everything worked out so beautifully for you, and hope you give my other self-guided tours a try on your travels elsewhere!
star-5
Great travel companion!
Ray_C
, May 2022
We only got about 1/4 the way around the lake but the audio tour was excellent! Full of stories and trivia in between the sights. An enjoyable travel companion.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Lake Tahoe has so much to see! And you can still see the other ¾ with this tour anytime in the future (it’s valid forever and will never expire). So no worries about exploring the rest of the lake whenever you have time. I also have more self-guided tours all over the country — hope you check them out before your next vacation!
star-2
Bad idea when snowing
David_W
, May 2022
Had difficulty getting used to App. The directions were ok once figured out how to use. Had difficulty determining if "you have arrived" to sync verbal summary of sight with where we were at. Also could only get first 20 miles or so completed as it was snowing and the roads were narrow and a bit too scary to drive based on the weather conditions. If I knew the future portion of the trip was at lower elevation we could have proceeded, but this was an unknown safety portion of the trip so we turned around and went back to South Tahoe.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Good news — you can take the tour again when it’s not snowing! The tour is valid forever and can be used an infinite number of times. And please note that the stories will begin slightly BEFORE you see the sight so that you have time to decide if you want to pause/pull in/hike there/etc.
star-5
We downloaded the app the...
Pamela_M
, May 2022
We downloaded the app the night before. Got into the rental car. Plugged the phone in and away we went. It was great stopped when we stopped and started right back up when we did. Turkey enjoyed all the stories’
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Awesome! I’m so glad my tour helped make your visit to Lake Tahoe special. Hope you get the chance to try my other tours in the future!
star-5
Little journey to tahoe
Daniel_C
, May 2022
Me and my wife really enjoyed viator. I like all the spots it told us to stop and view also the history of Lake Tahoe.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Thank you a lot! I'm overjoyed that you both liked my self-guided tour of Lake Tahoe purchased through Viator. If you liked the self-guided experience, I actually have a number of other tours as well, all across the country — hope you get to check them out on your future travels!
star-3
83rd birthday
Maria_C
, Feb 2022
Our mother who celebrated her 83rd birthday had her first drive around the lake. Because of the snow many of the areas were closed.
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
Thanks Maria! We note the winter hours for all the optional museums, historic houses, etc. along the way — and we specifically clarify that we cannot guarantee their opening hours. Lots of snow certainly has an impact on all destinations!
star-1
Not car play compatible
FaizShaikh
, Dec 2021
Not car play compatible Was expecting it to have at least that amount of features Also, narrator talked about some mansions but we couldn’t see any of them from the route
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Unfortunately there’s nothing we can do about CarPlay (Apple has not approved the feature for the app). That’s why we recommend a phone holder. Mansions that we believe are worth visiting are mentioned, with their parking lots pointed out.
star-1
Awful
Mark_J
, Dec 2021
App doesn't work asked for help was disconnected never again. A rip off. Shouls get a refund if they were reputable
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Hi Mark, we got your call about seeing a blank screen. We walked you through the fix and you said it worked. So this review is definitely a surprise. Please feel free to call back or e-mail us for the next steps.
star-1
I did not get to use the...
Jacqueline_B
, Nov 2021
I did not get to use the service. Tried many times. It was a disaster. Give me my REFUND. Yr service I wouldn't use again or recommend to anyone
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
We’d be more than happy to help! We have 24/7 support over call, chat, and email, and are able to get everyone set up to enjoy the tour immediately. Please contact us whenever you have trouble.
star-5
Exploring Tahoe
Jose_C
, Nov 2021
Listening to all the amazing stories about places of lake Tahoe that we didn’t even know it was amazing
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thanks, Jose! I’m thrilled that our tour helped make your Tahoe visit so special! I hope you get the chance to try out some of our other self-guided audio tours across the country on your future travels — ActionTourGuide.com. Thanks again!
star-3
Not helpful
Hari_S
, Nov 2021
Showed many places but doesn’t help us to plan. So not helpful much in identifying important places if we have few hrs time.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Hi Hari, this is a driving audio tour, not a planner! It’s best value comes when it’s used as intended.
star-5
The beauty of Lake Tahoe...
Darrell_G
, Nov 2021
The beauty of Lake Tahoe and its views and the narrator of the audio tour was very informative and the myths and stories were entertaining.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thanks, Darrell! I’m so glad you loved the tour! Making a Lake Tahoe trip special, informative, and fun is our goal :) We have more self-guided tours across the country at ActionTourGuide.com for your future travels. Thanks again!
star-5
More than a 3 hour tour
Holly_S
, Nov 2021
The 2-3 hour tour turned into an 8 hour event. We took one of the side trip suggestions to Fallen Leaf. Learned about the Good Indian and the fallen leaf legend. Heard about the Ong and history of the area. Stopped at casinos we hadn’t stopped at before. Skipped Camp Richardson area as we had visited before. Visited Emerald Bay and some new to us pull offs. Packed our lunch so we could eat on our schedule. Not sure how this would be 2-3 hours unless you never get out of your car.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Wow, sounds like an amazing day with tons of adventures! I’m so glad our Tahoe tour was able to make your trip to the lake special — and to add something new from your previous visits! And I’m thrilled that you enjoyed the wide variety of stories, tales, and history about Tahoe. We offer more self-guided experiences for other locations at ActionTourGuide.com, which may come in handy for your future travels. Thanks again!
star-5
Good background for the drive.
TerryLynn_T
, Nov 2021
The audio tour was great. Took a bit to figure out the technical issues, but really enjoyed the history narrative. Driving around the Lake is amazing and this helped provide some structure. Highly recommend for anyone that is looking for an inexpensive easy way to get some guidance.
icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
Thank you Terry! I’m thrilled that our tour was able to make your Tahoe trip special. If there’s anything we can do to improve, please let us know. If you enjoyed the self-guided experience, we have more tours at ActionTourGuide.com for your future travels. Thanks again!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Ultimate Lake Tahoe Self-Driving Audio Tour
Ultimate Lake Tahoe Self-Driving Audio Tour

star-460

3 to 5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$10.00

star-4.568

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$70.00

star-53

N/A

Free Cancellation

From
$49.00

star-511

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$1,050.00

star-53

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$1,050.00

star-52

4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$1,050.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations