Recent Searches

Driving Lake Tahoe: A Self-Guided Tour from South Lake Tahoe to Tahoe City

star-4.514 Reviews
Stateline, United States
Driving Lake Tahoe: A Self-Guided Tour from South Lake Tahoe to Tahoe City

From $11.99 per group (up to 15)

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 traveler2 travelers3 travelers4 travelers5 travelers6 travelers7 travelers8 travelers9 travelers10 travelers11 travelers12 travelers13 travelers14 travelers15 travelers
You will not receive a refund if you cancel. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon2 hours to 2 hours 30 minutes  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Saved to wishlist!
Lifetime access to this tour in English
Offline access to audio, maps, and geodata
VoiceMap App for Android and iOS
Food and drink
Smartphone and headphones
Tickets or entrance fees to any museums or other attractions en route
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Lake Tahoe , 50 US-50, Stateline, NV 89449, USA

Before arrival, please install the VoiceMap mobile app and use the code provided on your confirmation ticket. This is a self-guided audio tour that you can start, pause, or restart at any time and complete at your own pace. Detailed starting point instructions are available after downloading.

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
7/30/2020 - 8/16/2023
Monday - Sunday:12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
William B Layton Park , W Lake Blvd, Tahoe City, CA 96145, USA

The tour ends at William B Layton Park.

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Near public transportation
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY VoiceMap
This experience is non-refundable and cannot be changed for any reason. If you cancel or ask for an amendment, the amount you paid will not be refunded.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    Traveler Photos


    14 Reviews
    2 stars
    1 star

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    We perform checks on reviews

    Showing 1-6 of 14 reviews
    Poor tour information. We...
    , Jul 2022
    Poor tour information. We did travel twice around the Lake Tahoe and both times used Audio Tours: VoiceMap ($11.99) and Action Tour Guide ($10). Strongly recommend to by Auction Tour guide .
    icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
    Hi Iryna – We're sorry you didn't get as much value from this tour as you should have! Unfortunately you appear to have started it in the middle instead of following the route from the Hard Rock Hotel, so you missed a lot of the tour. You also don't appear to have finished the tour. The script is nearly 9,000 words long, so there's plenty of content, and it's all thoroughly researched. It's a pity you didn't experience it because other reviews of this tour are overwhelmingly positive and VoiceMap's app has a better overall rating than Action Tour Guide's.
    Relaxing and informative day
    , Jul 2022
    This was amazing and learned so much that e decided to add the next 2 tours and complete the lake. The only issue is when you pause and stop. It was sometimes difficult to get the your playing again. Did also lose signal once.
    What a great afternoon’s drive
    , May 2022
    The information on the history of the Tahoe basin, especially Camp Richardson, and the visit to Emerald Bay overlook.
    Lake Tahoe
    , Nov 2021
    Very nice narration on key points and places to stop and consider stopping during your stay. We loved it
    Worth the price
    , Nov 2021
    My family and I really enjoyed learning about the history of Lake Tahoe and finding new spots to explore.
    Just OK...
    , May 2021
    The concept is very good. The execution is very frustrating. It was very difficult at first to get to the exact starting spot for at the Hard Rock. It out me in the middle of an entrance where you can't park to listen to the instructions. Getting back to the app after a stop doesn't always work well. I kept getting a message saying that I was lost and off the path. The first time it caused me to turn around and retrace steps. I wasted about 15 minutes. It was because of a temporary loss of signal. This should be anticipated in that area. For $12 its hard to complain, but it was just OK.
    icon Response from Host , May 2021
    Thanks for this useful feedback Sim. It's helped us make some improvements to the tour, which has only just been released. It looks like the publisher of this tour didn't cover the entire parking lot when they set up the starting point. This has been corrected. When you heard the lost alert suggesting you might have gone off track, it was because you chose not to take optional turn offs. That's to be expected, of course, otherwise these turn offs wouldn't be optional, but we needed to change the configuration slightly on our end to prevent that alert from playing. We've now done this. Thanks again. This is a better tour now as a result of your feedback and we're contacting you to offer you a free VoiceMap tour.
    1 traveler found this review helpful

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Driving Lake Tahoe: A Self-Guided Tour from South Lake Tahoe to Tahoe City
    Driving Lake Tahoe: A Self-Guided Tour from South Lake Tahoe to Tahoe City


    120 to 150 minutes

    Free Cancellation



    3 hours 35 minutes

    Free Cancellation




    Free Cancellation



    3 hours

    Free Cancellation



    2 hours

    Free Cancellation

    Why you are seeing these recommendations

    Explore Similar Things to Do

    Why you are seeing these recommendations