Recent Searches
Clear

Morning Transfer To Pico Do Arieiro, Hike To Pico Ruivo & Return From Teixeira

star-4.523 Reviews
|
Funchal, Portugal
Morning Transfer To Pico Do Arieiro, Hike To Pico Ruivo & Return From Teixeira

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon6 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Saved to wishlist!
All Fees and Taxes

Departure Point

9000-900 Funchal, Portugal

For customers coming by car to Funchal from other parts of the island outside our pick-up areas (Funchal and Caniço) we recommend to park at Parque 2000 as it is the cheapest and most comfortable parking of Funchal center. We will pick you and drop you there.

Departure Time

Suppliers and travelers coordinate start times within the given time periods.
11/9/2019 - 2/6/2023
Monday - Sunday:10:30 AM - 05:30 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received within 48 hours of booking, subject to availability
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
  • OPERATED BY Pico Transfers
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Morning Transfer To Pico Do Arieiro, Hike To Pico Ruivo & Return From Teixeira?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Morning Transfer To Pico Do Arieiro, Hike To Pico Ruivo & Return From Teixeira.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Morning Transfer To Pico Do Arieiro, Hike To Pico Ruivo & Return From Teixeira?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Morning Transfer To Pico Do Arieiro, Hike To Pico Ruivo & Return From Teixeira.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Morning Transfer To Pico Do Arieiro, Hike To Pico Ruivo & Return From Teixeira?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Morning Transfer To Pico Do Arieiro, Hike To Pico Ruivo & Return From Teixeira.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
23 Reviews
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-6 of 23 reviews
star-5
Fantastic hike
Lorayne_H
, Dec 2021
Excellent communication from Pico Transfers from the start about the weather, travel arrangements and what to bring. Lovely Kevin the driver was prompt, friendly and reliable. A fantastic hike and great day.
star-3
Medium challenge walk with lots of steps and amazing scenery. Bring a Lamp!
Daniel
, Sep 2021
We couldnt go to sunshine transfer due to OUR mistake booking, Elisabeth said! Change not possible. Still have been charged the price for earlier trip. They changed prices months ago we have been told ONLY their website isnt up to date. feels like a scam. eventhough this is the leading operator. disappointing. the driver Felipe was lovely and gave interesting info.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Hi Daniel, I'm sad to see your review, as it is very unfair. Therefore, it has been reported to TripAdvisor/Viator to be removed. I have explained to the customer service of the platform, that as they know, and as I tried to explain you, we are not able at all to switch a service nor a price after someone has booked. Unfortunately, you have confused the prices and the services and give us a bad review for it. When in fact, all our other reviews are 5 stars because we do provide an excellent service. You might have seen diferent prices in our website but you decided to book throught this platform instead. Like any other tour operator, hotel, flight company, etc, the prices in our website are lower because are direct bookings. The prices in platforms like this one, are higher because we have to pay commission. It's a pity that you didn't notice that, nor read carefully, and it's unfair that you blame us for it. Anyway, I'm happy that you had a great experience in the hike and in the transportation.
star-5
Wonderful service
Michelle_M
, Mar 2020
Great service and loved doing the walk at our own speed without a guide Absolutely recommend Pico transfers Thank you Michelle
icon Response from Host , Mar 2020
Thank you for your review Michelle :-) we are happy to provide the opportunity to walk in your own tempo with no pressures!
star-5
Infinitely more interesting than a lavada walk
ptarr2019
, Nov 2019
On Madeira for first time. Left all the arrangements to my wife, who booked a number of tours. I hadn't realised that the island was so mountainous and read about the walk from Pico do Arieiro to Pico Ruivo and just had to do it, but only had one day I could do it with reasonable weather (on Monday - my last day). But most tour operators don't do this walk and those that did only seemed to do it on Tuesdays and Fridays and charged quite a lot of money. I was so pleased to discover that Pico Transfers could get me there on the day I wanted and for €24.99 without a guide (which wasn't needed anyway) and that I was part of a small group of just 3. So I cancelled my place on the Lavada walk which my wife wanted to do and lost the money we had paid for my place. My companions for Pico Ruivo turned out to be two attractive and delightful young ladies in their 20s (one German and one Finnish). The only common language between any of us was English which they both spoke well. Their conversation was stimulating and on occasions uninhibited! One of them described the feeling she got on completion of the walk as a "mountain orgasm". I know this feeling, but probably wouldn't use such a graphic term for it. The weather was cloudy with occasional breaks in the cloud. We had such a break at the summit of Pico Ruivo and spent too long there enjoying the views and taking photos (and in the cafe which was well-stocked with rum, but had no milk for coffees). As a result, we were still on the trail in the cloud at sunset and so missed it. Our transport was awaiting us at Pico do Arieiro and whisked us back to our hotels. It was a great day which wouldn't have been possible without Pico Transfers. Thanks to Elisabeth and Kevin for organising everything so efficiently and driving us safely there and back. The views were spectacular, but the trail was rather over-engineered for safety with far too many rectangular (and even occasionally metal steps), tunnels and handrails to make it accessible to tourists rather than mountaineers. In Britain, steps would only be laid if there was bad erosion and they would be much more natural shapes and there would never be tunnels and handrails. But I do understand why they have done this. The only criticism I have of Pico Transfers is the title of the hike. It is not a morning hike when you start quite late in the morning and plan to see the sunset!
icon Response from Host , Nov 2019
Hi, Philip :-) we are so glad that you had such a nice experience and so many impressions on the hike! Thank you so much for the review and the kind words about us, it's very rewarding!
star-4
Rundum perfekt
Nadine_S
, Oct 2021
Zuverlässig, freundlich und informativ! Wahrscheinlich eine der besten Optionen um Wanderungen auf Madeira in eigenem Tempo zu machen! Unser Fahrer Felipe hat uns dazu auf dem hin und Rückweg viele Spots gezeigt und tolle Restaurants empfohlen! Danke immer gerne wieder! Übrigens es sind keine sanitären Einrichtungen auf dem doch recht anspruchsvollem Wanderweg nach pico ruivo. Be prepared!
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Thank you for your review :-) I am happy to know that you had a great experience!
star-5
Gute Kommunikation
Melina_C
, Oct 2020
Sehr freundliche Mitarbeiter, Alles sehr gut organisiert und gute Kommunikation, sehr zu empfehlen. Alles gut geklappt
icon Response from Host , Oct 2020
Danke Melina :-D

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Morning Transfer To Pico Do Arieiro, Hike To Pico Ruivo & Return From Teixeira
Morning Transfer To Pico Do Arieiro, Hike To Pico Ruivo & Return From Teixeira

star-4.523

6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$35.73

star-538

6 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$38.04

star-4.519

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$51.87

star-510

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$40.34

star-536

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$51.87

star-58

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$40.34

star-576

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$57.63

star-5214

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$51.87

star-514

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$34.58

Explore Similar Things to Do