Recent Searches
Clear

Berchtesgaden Town and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

star-4.591 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
München, Germany
Berchtesgaden Town and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Seniors1 Senior2 Seniors3 Seniors4 Seniors5 Seniors6 Seniors7 Seniors8 Seniors9 Seniors10 Seniors0 Youths1 Youth2 Youths3 Youths4 Youths5 Youths6 Youths7 Youths8 Youths9 Youths10 Youths0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Getting from Munich to Hitler’s Eagle’s Nest (Kehlsteinhaus) by public transport makes for a long day trip. Avoid stressing about connections or the hassle of arranging a rental car, and take this relaxing tour instead. Explore the Dokumentation Obersalzberg museum and Eagle's Nest at your expense, and stop at the alpine town of Berchtesgaden. A special bus and lift then take you up to the Kehlsteinhaus at an altitude of 1,834m where you will be rewarded with spectacular views. In the event of bad weather conditions (fog, ice, snow) which make a trip up to the Kehlsteinhaus impossible, we offer the visit of the Berchtesgaden salt mines as an alternative.
  • Admire the dramatic mountain scenery of Berchtesgadener Land
  • Find out more about the region’s Nazi past from your guide
  • Convenient round-trip transport from central Munich
Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Live-Guide in English
Guided Tour in Berchtesgaden town
Organisation of the bustickets up to the Eagle's Nest
Lunch
no hotel pickup
entrance fee for the special bus and lift up to the Eagle's (28 Euro/adult, 15 Euro untill 14 years)
Sonnenstraße 1 , Sonnenstraße 1, 80331 München, Germany

If you stand at Karlsplatz (Stachus) with your back to the fountains, you will see the toy shop "Obletter" on your left. If you continue straight ahead along Sonnenstraße, you will see the "Fielmann" eyewear store. There you will meet the tour guide and the white coach.

8:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Please bring a FFP2 Mask for the special bus.
  • Please bring cash for the fee to drive up to Eagles Nest! No card payment possible!
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Mentor Reisen e.K.
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Berchtesgaden Town and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Berchtesgaden Town and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Berchtesgaden Town and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Berchtesgaden Town and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Berchtesgaden Town and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Berchtesgaden Town and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Berchtesgaden Town and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Berchtesgaden Town and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
91 Reviews
1 star
0

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 91 reviews
star-5
Good Times
Thomas_H
, Aug 2022
The tour guide was very professional and knowledgeable. Besides pointing out interesting facts regarding the Eagles Nest, she pointed out and explained multiple sites we saw along the journey.
star-4
Eagles nest.
Nicola_H
, Aug 2022
Great experience to travel up the mountain to the Eagles nest, unfortunately on our day there was heavy mist so visibility was very poor. Although this was disappointing, weather is not predictable the tour guide was full of information and had back up pictures. We did walk to the top and found black mountain salamanders and lots of lovely flowers.
star-3
Great guide. Your too long!
MrJohn_D
, Aug 2022
Guide was excellent. Great knowledge & excellent English . Tour was too long. 4 1/2 hours of driving for waiting for Red bus at base. Too long at top if not having a meal at restaurant. Too long at bottom restaurant if you had already eaten at top.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Thank you for your review. We are happy about the good rating of our guide! Unfortunately, the Documentation Center is closed at the moment, which would normally be the alternative for lunch. Then also the time would not be too long....
star-5
Great trip but take a packed lunch!
Rachel_E
, Aug 2022
Great trip, Maria was our guide, she was wonderful. Coach was air conditioned and comfortable. Only downside to our day was having lunch at the restaurant at the bottom of the mountain - this lunch break is planned into the trip. €3.60 for a glass of water, €4.20 for a coke! I’d recommend taking a packed lunch if you can. We would have preferred to take lunch in Bertesgaden, which had a choice of restaurants. Otherwise a well organised and enjoyable trip.
star-5
Great tour with an...
Jo_K
, Jul 2022
Great tour with an amazing tour operator, Mentor Reisen. Would definitely recommend going with this tour operator.
star-5
Very good tour with...
oleksandra_s
, Jul 2022
Very good tour with Maria. A lot of interesting information, magnificent sights, good lunch. I recommend
star-5
Great guide and bus...
Marius_P
, Jul 2022
Great guide and bus driver. Lots of great views and information. The Eagle's nest was struck by lightning so the elevator didn't work, so we went to the salt mine instead, which was great and everything went smoothly. Would come back to see the Eagle's nest!
star-3
Beautiful view
William_O
, Jul 2022
Our tour guide was was very informative on the way there. It should be made clear that a 28 euro in Cash is needed for each person and collected on the bus. With 6 people in our party, we were scraping together every penny. There are no cash machines at the stops. This NEEDS to be known ahead of time. Many other people on the bus were surprised too. The view from the top of Eagles Nest was beautiful. Just very disappointed that it was basically a big restaurant. Not a lot to see inside the house because it was all turned into the restaurant. The stops on the way home I thought were unnecessary. You can eat lunch at Eagles Nest, which offers a better variety then the lunch stop. The stop in Berchtesgaden was ok. A few little shops. Nothing too exciting. It was a very long day. We didn’t get back till 730. I’m glad we did it, but would not do again.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for your review! As the Eagles Nest was totally looted at the end of the 2nd World War, unfortunately there is nothing left to look at except the permanently installed chimney. In the "Addiotional Information" it says very clearly that you have to bring cash for the ascent with the special bus. I'm glad you were able to enjoy the view and ride with us!
star-5
Berchtesgarten Experience is in the little details
Cheryl_D
, Jul 2022
Childhood memories and guiding pointing out Eva Braun's signature carved into fireplace? Old photos of Nazi Party in the 1930s -1945 even the engineering photos were a marvel to me. I loved both the tunnel & elevator experience and then guide explaining the stories about them. My husband watched series: "Man in the High Castle," and this Eagles Nest but things together for him Only Downside was cloudcver; not in Viator's control Loved mountain walks in National Park and Photo Opportunity to go over to Austrian side
star-5
Great tour
Lasonya_G
, Jul 2022
The tour was perfect. On time, well organized and lunch was great. Tour guide was very informative, she explained everything to us on the way to the eagle nest and during the tour
star-5
Beautiful Berchtesgaden
Stacy_W
, Jul 2022
Stunning views and the bus ride was very scenic and informative. We had a wonderful time. The stop in Berchtesgaden was delightful. Darling stores and a great place to find the perfect souvenir.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
A must see tour with a great tour company
Susan_P
, Jul 2022
The memorable parts are why we took the tour: Not having to drive and enjoying the scenery, some one who tells us about the history and the area, having a guide who knows what to do and where we should be. The tour was done very good and we learned a lot about Munich as well. This is a great trip. I would certainly recommend this tour, and we have done a lot of tours in our time
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Incredible views and history, but remember to take Euros for entrance fee.
Chris_C
, Jul 2022
Gorgeous views! Lovely ride to the country from Munich in a new bus. TIP: Remember to take EUROs with you. The small print mentions that you must pay the entrance fee in cash (28 Euros for each adult) prior to switching from your tour bus to the Eagles Nest bus. I expected to pay the entrance fee, but it wasn't written anywhere that it was cash only. We were told this by tour guide on the way there. Many families did not bring enough cash, but worked something out. This was inconvenient, so you've been told by me. Though you won't have to worry about parking bc this tour provides a very comfortable bus, just for your FYI parking is not free if you were to drive (in case you're meeting friends or locals who need to park a car). The parking meter for the parking lot takes five Euros in coins (I made change for several people in parking lot on the way to lunch). The gift shop has a minimum amount for using a credit card and the delicious restaurant in the parking lot prefers not to take credit cards. I was told at the gift shop by the cashier that the computer system sometimes goes down and cash can only be taken then. Great and wonderful experience, just remember to take cash. Very nice new bus with cell phone plugs for charging and great driver and tour guide! The town of Berchtesgaden has picturesque views of the mountains and lovely restaurants and shops. The cemetery has gorgeous headstones and views. I would have loved a 10 minute tour on the history of the cemetery, but just sitting on the benches and having an ice cream or a beer is a wonderful afternoon too.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Eagles nest - a fantastic tour
Hans_N
, Jul 2022
A fantastic tour to such a historical place with the most amazing views. We had a fantastic day that we never will torget. Just go there!
star-5
Fascinating
mamudge
, Jul 2022
Fascinating. Anyone going on this tour needs to bring cash, no credit cards. Our guide Katherine was very good and helpful. The views were magnificent.
star-5
Awesome! Just bring lots of cash!
Janna_W
, Jul 2022
Awesome driver and tour guide. The day was wonderful. Make sure you have euros to pay the bus fee of $28 per person. Only feedback I would give is to allow an option to pay the bus fee in advance during booking. Also, the restaurant and gift shops only take cash. No cards.
star-5
Worth the hike
Gail_V
, Jul 2022
I knew we were going to a very famous, historic place but wasn't expecting it to be beautiful as well. Even without the history it would be nice home in the Alps. There was a lot of steep walking so be sure you are up to it. But worth the hike for the views
star-4
Spectacular!
Gary_M
, Jul 2022
The spectacular view with the History! The tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly! The spacing of free time was just right!
star-5
The experience and the...
Jack_O
, Jul 2022
The experience and the views were better than expected at the top of the Eagle’s Nest. We were lucky to have fantastic weather and could see for miles. Our guide, Monica, was great and very knowledgeable and spoke just enough to convey the info and not too much to be intrusive. Great tour.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-3
An interesting day
Helen_K
, Jul 2022
Visit to Eagles Nest historically interesting and a picturesque drive through Bavaria. Berchtesgaden a fabulous town with its cobbled lanes. More time spent here rather than over an hour at the arranged lunch venue would have added value to the tour. The latter a total waste of time after the choice of lunch at eagles nest.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for writing a review! We are pleased that you enjoyed the Eagles Nest and the town of Berchtesgaden. As experience shows that guests are hungry after the Eagles Nest, we give the time for lunch. If you don't want to eat, you can normally visit the Documentation Centre during this time, but unfortunately it is currently closed for renovation.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Berchtesgaden Town and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich
Berchtesgaden Town and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

star-4.591

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$56.91

star-4769

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$61.05

star-51

5 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$129.48

star-5261

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$35.18

star-598

10 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$56.91

star-5232

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$31.04

star-4.520

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$150.04

star-5276

4 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$36.22
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations