Recent Searches

Hierve el Agua, Tule Tree, Mitla and Mezcal Distillery Tour

Oaxaca de Juárez, Mexico
Hierve el Agua, Tule Tree, Mitla and Mezcal Distillery Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

icon12 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds


Saved to wishlist!
Air-conditioned vehicle
Alcoholic Beverages
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
TEATRO MACEDONIO ALCALÁ , Av. de la Independencia 900, Centro, 68000 Oaxaca de Juárez, Oax., Mexico

The Macedonio Alcalá theater is located on the corner of Independencia avenue and Armenta y López street.

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.We pick up at all hotels, hostels, airbnb in the center of Oaxaca
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 14 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Oaxacan Experiences
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More


47 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 47 reviews
Worth every penny
, May 2022
If you go to Oaxaca this tour is a must. Our guide was lovely, we were picked up on time, we weren't rushed and tour was very informative. Definitely a must
Not professional but glad they gave us a refund
, May 2022
Well, we didn't get a chance to go on the tour. We were at the meet point at the right time (8am) for the van to pick us up. 15 minutes later I called them to see if everything was ok, and they said "yes, just wait". At 8:30 we called again, and this time they said there was a problem with the van and it would cause some delay, but they would be there to pick us up at 9am. We called again at 9:20am and they said the van was on the way, and they would pick us up in the next 10 minutes. 40 minutes later (at 10am) we called AGAIN, they just said the van was on the way. So, it was our last day in Oaxaca, the last day we had to go to all the places the tour says they would bring us to. And instead of telling us the truth and/or canceling it, every time we called they gave us hope that the tour would still happen. We decided to ask for a refund at 10:20 (more than 2 hours waiting for nothing). And we received the refund on the next business day, no problem. The person on the phone was always polite, and apologetic. But it was an awful experience considering we were counting on them to bring us to these places and now we'll never get a chance to go. We tried to find another agency to bring us to at least one of the places and because it was last minute we could not find any reasonable price.
icon Response from Host , May 2022
That comment is not fair.. I explained we had a traffic accident with the van on the way to pick up the people.That never happens but that day... We had a really bad day. Most of the people on that day were kind and waited, at the end most of the people took that tour, we had to get another van, at the time, and it was very difficult...And I explain you, and you say understands, but it seems do not. . I was on the phone that day!! By the way, you were the only persons you did not want to wait and do the tour! Really sorry about that, Anyway, we always try to accomplish this with the pick up. And the people do not know how hard it is to pick up everybody in a city like Oaxaca. Oaxaca is the first place in Mexico to protest, and most of the days we have blocked ways and almost everyday we have to figure out how to deal with the blocks and to pick up the people. Also, sometimes the travelers are not ready, and need to way for them, which delays us for other pickups. As a probe that day we run the tour, you can read the comment below!! They were on the same tour!!
Great Oaxaca experience!
, May 2022
Swimming in the Hierve El Agua pools, the views of the mountains and the mezcaleria! Our guide and driver were amazing at navigating the mountain climb. Felt very safe with them.
Hierve Al agua is worth a visit
, May 2022
Pick was an hour late (0845 while being ready at 0730). Full day took ten hours instead of 8. Spoke to another couple on the same trip who payed half the price
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Hello my friend!! Thank you very much for your feedback!! As you may know, we pick up every traveler, and sometimes the travelers are not ready, and we need to wait for them, that is, in most cases why we sometimes pick up late. About the price, you also may considerer the viator comission!! Thank you!!
The guide was excellent...
, Apr 2022
The guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. My parents really enjoyed this tour. I recommend this tour to anyone wanting to get the basics about Oaxaca history and culture.
trustworthy and knowledgeable tour guides
, Apr 2022
The crew was absolutely wonderful to hang out with. They engaged with not just me but all tourists and provided great information about the sites we visited as well as any other information tourists may not be aware of. Highly recommend them. Honest people. Recommend Angel and Andres (though andres only does Spanish tours). Had a lot of fun and learned a lot from my tour.
I would not recommend...
, Apr 2022
I would not recommend this particular tour. They try to pack too much into one day to make it comfortable or fun. If you want to really see Hieve el Agua, which is beautiful, but also requires some intense walking to get the most out of it, hire a driver or go on a tour that just goes there. It's worth a visit, but doing it at the end of a long day in a rushed fashion isn't a good way to approach it. If you want to visit all these sites one after another, you could go on a trip like this, but we prepared for a long day. Even then, I wouldn't suggest this tour company. Our tour began at 7:30 and we didn't stop for lunch until 5:15, even though we were told it would be around noon. Our minibus was overcrowded and uncomfortable. Our tour guide was poor at communicating the itinerary or expectations for the day.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hello my friend... Thank you for your review.. We also have a tour that only goes to Hierve el Agua...For those who just want to visit hierve el agua.
Lovely and very interesting tour!
, Apr 2022
This trip was lovely and very interesting. It was a long day but jam-packed with so much to see and do. Lunch was included and the transport was comfortable and the guide was good. I think my favourite part was the tour of the process of producing textiles from a local woman who runs her own textile business with her family. It was incredibly interesting to get an in-depth talk through the process of producing and creating beautiful woollen rugs and garments. I really enjoyed Hierve el Agua but it was bit crowded by other visitors. The Mezcal distillery tour was also super interesting and informative.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Don’t book this tour
, Mar 2022
Do not book this tour if you are not fluent Spanish speaking. Whilst I know a little Spanish, when booking I was reassured and English speaking guide would be present. They were not. At the majority of stops we were given no information in English and missed out on the explanations/tour due to only a Spanish speaking guide being present. On top of this, at certain venues the price we were charged was over the usual amount for the attraction. For example, at Hierve de aqua we were charged $90 although entrance was only $50 which I think is extremely poor given the price of the trip. We were also 2 hours late to leave for the trip resulting in us not getting back to Oaxaca until 9pm at night. A couple on the bus missed their night bus because of this. Overall, I enjoyed the sights. But thought the organisation on the tour was poor.
1 traveler found this review helpful
, Mar 2022
First of all, the positives on this trip: The visit covers multiple places in one day with very good information and local flavors. Also the tour is on time and they pick up right on your hotel or location where you are staying. Now the Issues: The guide never asked for our tickets, nor introduce himself and explained the plan for the day. The whole trip felt like a huge infomercial in which every stop something was promoted and the people expected you to buy from them. In addition, although the tour disclaimers mention that you will have to cover the entry fees for places such Mitla or Hierve el Agua, they do not mention you will have to pay THEM (the tour guides) in cash before entry. You expect that you will be able to buy your tickets directly at the counter and pay with credit card when possible, so this is not an option. It felt like they were pocketing the money for them, as we were able to see some signs on the entry prices, and they were tripling that fee. Also, during the whole trip the driver just play his music, no conversation or any information on the towns we were cruising by, no interaction with the guests, making it like a quiet and not fun drive. The other major issue, when it was time for lunch, we arrived to a restaurant that ONLY offered a buffet. There were not appetizers on the spot to be offered or any other options, so we just opted to have a beer as we weren't hungry enough to pay for a buffet, which for standards of Oaxaca was pricey (about 10 dollars per person). Finally, at the arrival the driver was jut catering to a lady to be dropped on her place, but never asked if somebody was by the places we were driving. We passed Infront of our AIBNB 2 times and we could truly had appreciate if he could have drop us off there after a long day o walking under the sun. Overall not a very pleasant experience compared with other tours that we have booked through TripAdvisor and Viator. This would be a no repeat for us if case.
Great day tour to see several Oaxaca sites
, Mar 2022
Great way to see Hierve el agua and El Tule tree, and the textile/loom visit was super interesting. Little mezcal distillery tour was fun at the end. It was great being in a small group of 8/9 - the tour was quite long but we had a coffee stop and a Buffet lunch. It felt much less touristy than another big tour bus I’d done in another area. The timings and length at each stop was great
1 traveler found this review helpful
Terrific Tour
, Mar 2022
Wonderful all day tour where you get see a bit of everything -- several other towns, textiles, history, culture, food, and mezcal. Really informed and well-organized. We could have never seen and done so much if we were left on our own. Highly recommend.
Fun day trip from oaxaca!
, Mar 2022
Great experience, wonderful guides!! Bring your swimsuit to enjoy a dip in the pools. We learned how they make wool and how they make the pigments! Super fun!
Great value for a very long tour!
, Feb 2022
Our day with our tour guides was fantastic - we saw everything in the description and then some. However, be prepared for potentially a long day - we were picked up at 7:45am and dropped back off in Oaxaca centro at 7:00pm/7:30pm because of the many stops we made. Furthermore, we didn't arrive to the lunch stop (an all-you-can-eat buffet with a variety of American and Mexican food) until about 2:30pm. We ate at Hierve el Agua prior to that stop because we were so hungry and we didn't regret it, as the food there was fantastic. All activities were great to see and we learned a lot about Oaxacan culture and history throughout the day. Fantastic value for the price of this tour; just make sure to build in plenty of time to accommodate the itinerary!
Very nice trip - but organisation could be better !
, Dec 2021
The trip includes very beautiful places. Especially the view from Hierve el agua is fantastic! We can highly recommend the trip. But we would appreciate if the operator would give better and more accurate information about the schedule of the trip. The trip started two hours early ( allegedly because of strikes blocking the roads of Oaxaca, but in the end we were able to leave the city without any problems) and arrived back in Oaxaca two hours later than planned - and that only because we urged the tour guide to get us to Oaxaca in time, as we had to take a bus to Chiapas.
2 travelers found this review helpful
Buen tour
, Jun 2022
Jorge es muy buen guía ya que estuvo siempre atento a nuestras necesidades y nos dio buena información sobre los lugares arqueológicos, los lugares están muy bonitos y se toman descansos suficientes para comer y reponer energías a medio camino
Regular, puede mejorar
, Apr 2022
Primero que todo, el tour fue exageradamente largo: nos recogieron a las 7:30 am y regresamos al hotel a las 7:30 pm. Segundo el guía no aportó ninguna información relevante, realmente habría sido igual si no hubiera estado. Y tercero, el buffet al que nos llevaron estaba muy malo y caro 😥 pueden mejorar en esos aspectos, adicional de tener más tiempo para hierve el agua que es el destino más importante de todos.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
Hola!! muchas gracias por tus sugerencias... para tu información y de las personas que lean los comentarios, tenemos disponible un tour que, después de una breve visita al árbol del tule, vamos directamente a hierve el agua, que como bien dices, es el lugar más importante. El tour comienza a las 11:30 y termina más o menos a las 7. Después de pasar un tiempo en hierve el agua, de regreso a la ciudad, pasamos a visitar la destileria más popular de la región... Saludos!!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations