Recent Searches
Clear

Day Trip to El Valle Anton from Panama City

star-4.557 Reviews
|
Panama City, Panama
Day Trip to El Valle Anton from Panama City

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon10 hours  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more
Good for avoiding crowds

Overview

Hike in dormant volcano and visit a scenic mountain village on a full-day, active trip to El Valle from Panama City that includes pickup and drop-off at centrally-located hotels. Explore local wildlife and plants at a zoo and botanical garden, swim in a jungle waterfall, soak in a natural thermal pool, and visit the colorful handicraft market before returning to Panama City.
  • Active tour with a jungle hike
  • Visit petroglyphs and a waterfall
  • Soak in natural hot springs
  • Round-trip transport from Panama City
Saved to wishlist!
Transport by air-conditioned minivan or Minibus
Professional driver
Professional local guide
Beverages (soda, water or local beer)
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Lunch
Museum entrance fee US$3 per person (optional)
Chorro el Macho trail US$5 per person (Optional)
Mud mask and Thermal pool US$4 per person (optional)
El Nispero zoo US$5 per person (optional)
Any entrance fee attractions will be pay for the client.
Hotels or resorts outside our pick up range,have extra cost. Pay US$20 total for 1-12 passengers

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:00 AM

Hotel pickups commence prior to this time

Hotels or resorts outside our pick up range,have extra cost to cover round trip transfer. Like Westin Playa Bonita or Dream Playa Bonita. Pay US$20 total for 1-12 passengers
Begin with pickup at your hotel in select areas of Panama City, then make the 2-hour trip into the mountains in an air-conditioned minivan or minibus. Enjoy views of the countryside as you leave the city, winding up into the high altitude jungle.

Make the first stop of the day at El Nispero Zoo and Botanical Garden (entrance fees not included), where you can spot native plants and wildlife, including the rare golden frog from the forests surrounding El Valle. After time to purchase lunch in the village, see the mountains up close on a hike to a set of mysterious petroglyphs and a waterfall that’s perfect for swimming.

You’ll also have the option to choose a more challenging hike to the top of the Sleeping Indian, a distinctive feature on the rim of the volcano. When you’re back at the trailhead, soak your hiking muscles at the town’s natural thermal pools (own expense), and if desired, visit the local handicraft market for indigenous crafts from around the country. At the end of the afternoon, meet the vehicle for the return trip to your Panama City hotel, where this tour concludes.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • May be operated by a multi-lingual guide
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Would need to contact us for your pickup location
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Almiza tour by My friend Mario
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Day Trip to El Valle Anton from Panama City?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to El Valle Anton from Panama City.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Day Trip to El Valle Anton from Panama City?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to El Valle Anton from Panama City.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Day Trip to El Valle Anton from Panama City?
A:The policies on social distancing are:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
  • Contactless payments for gratuities and add-ons
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to El Valle Anton from Panama City.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Day Trip to El Valle Anton from Panama City?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Day Trip to El Valle Anton from Panama City.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "Just be sure to bring a sufficient amount of cash to cover entrance fees." See review
  • "It's not very far in terms of mileage, but the elevation change makes it very challenging." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
57 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 57 reviews
star-1
Cancelled on me
Georsadd_G
, Jul 2022
They cancelled on me less within 24 hours of the tour. I would've appreciated if I was informed way earlier so I can plan accordingly. This is the only tour I booked that did not push through for my 7 days trip in Panama - I could've used some of the time to do a day tour rather than an afternoon tour.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thank you for your feedback, unfortunately, during all week we have had protests against the goverment and the main road to el Valle was close. No only you. All tours to El Valle has been cancelled till further notice.
star-5
Cool Day Trip
Nicole_R
, Jun 2022
Santiago was a great tour guide. I selected this day trip because it allowed me to book as a solo traveler and join others for a small group tour. The tour includes a moderate to advanced hike (easy for experienced hikers or those who do high impact workouts) or you have the option to zipline at Canopy Adventure for an additional $65 per person. After the hike or zipline you go to a thermal pool, then you have the option to visit a zoo or a butterfly garden. We chose the zoo which may not have been the best option because the conditions the animals were keep in were subpar. The day ends with lunch at a local restaurant in the town. Overall, the day trip was okay and offered a more calming vibe to the hustle and bustle of the city.
star-5
The tour guides were...
John_N
, Feb 2022
The tour guides were fantastic. It was a pretty easy hike and a beautiful view was the reward. My favorite parts were the butterfly and golden frog sanctuary. Very educational and top notch experience
star-5
Make sure you have Santiago as your guide!
Dominic_C
, Feb 2022
Santiago was a very thoughtful guide who provided a clear expectation of the day. He took great photos and made sure we were ok throughout the hike. His customer service skills were great and he showed us some local restaurants at great prices.
star-1
Did not go
deniseakerr
, Feb 2022
Agent made an error in booking .y tour and company was inflexible to change to another day. I ended up.not having a tour for my intended date
icon Response from Host , Feb 2022
The client did not book directly with us. However, the client had vouchers for tours in Panama several days in advance. The client never checked that the information is correct. The client had El Valle tour confirmed for Thursday and we went to pick her up at 8am and she never showed up or answered the call from the guide and the hotel reception. On Thursday afternoon the client contacted us to change the date of the tour for Saturday, but unfortunately we were already full with a private group.
star-4
Fun day out in the valley.
Paul_K
, Feb 2022
It was a good value tour with the right balance between physical activities like hiking and more gentle pursuits like visiting the zoo. The driver and tour guide were professional and had good knowledge of the area.
star-5
Amazing tour and hike
Efrem_B
, Feb 2022
Santiago and Mishael were phenomenal tour guides. On the way to Anton Valley, Santiago gave us a comprehensive overview of the history of Panama which was very informative and passed the time in the car! : ) We started our day a challenging hike that was well worth it to see the view of the volcano crater from the top of the Sleeping Indian. The kids really enjoyed climbing up the mountain and zip-lining following the hike. We highly recommend this tour!
star-4
Great hike
Nicole_L
, Jan 2022
The trip guides, Santiago and Misael, were great! We did already the Mamey Island+Portobello tour with them and they were great both times. In this trip you can choose between a medium difficulty hike or a more relaxed path with activities and great views and we chose the hike. I would strongly recommend it if you're used to walk because the view is exceptional. The Zoo is a no for us as the animals don't seem to be much taken care of and there are caged birds all over the place. I strongly recommend to go to the Mariposario, it's an incredible experience. Also, seeing the almost-extint golden frog was very special! Overall great experience!
star-5
Best Adventure Ever
Barbara_Q
, Jan 2022
Our tour guide Santiago was the best guide we ever had. He was extremely articulate, well poised and knowledgeable on the history of The Anton Valley and Panama in general. We had so much fun discussing and asking him questions about the venues we visited. First we did a hike in a natural forest with a swimming spring, lunch at a beautiful restaurant, butterfly sanctuary, then botanical garden and zoo. We cannot say enough about Santiago. He was such a great young man and incredibly effectible.
star-5
Feed the monkeys!
Adam_S
, Jan 2022
Santiago and Miseal our guides were great! Definitely worth the drive. I opted to only go on a partial hike to the first peak. Beautiful view of the crater. Instead I went ziplining, and swam in a beautiful natural pool by a waterfall. The botanical garden and zoo was a highlight for me because there were monkeys. Santiago planned ahead and bought a bag of bananas for us to feed the animals, including the monkeys. Definitely worth the $5 entry fee. All in all it's worth the drive to see another part of Panama.
star-2
Not as expected
Britney_R
, Oct 2021
The drive there is long and picking up 9 people added an extra hour. If you do the hike you should expect that is all you will do/see. We paid for this tour thinking we would swim in waterfalls, go to hot springs and a local market or zoo but literally did not do any of that. We were left with a 13 year old boy on a mountain for a very difficult hike a d he spoke not a single word of English so we got no history or information at all and then they just dropped us for lunch and 3 more hours of driving back. really disappointed in what we paid vs what we got. Not accurate description. Mario was a very nice guide during pick up but he left us once we arrived.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We regret the tour was not to your complete satisfaction. Although you visited a community inside a volcano crater, which is also the most visited place by those of us who live in Panama City because of this highland town beauty. In addition, you were able to hike for 2.5 hours to the top of the crater and see a couple of waterfalls during the descent. It was just a matter of entering to bathe in the crystalline ponds of pure water. Before the hike Mario gave to the group the guideline and landmark point (White cross) of the trail and Jair our local guide was enough good to guided all group around the circuit and back safe to the minibus. The tour also included a visit to a laboratory that is struggling to reproduce an animal that has already been extinct in its natural habitat for more than 10 years. See 3 golden frogs alive knowing that if the project fails we will never see this species of frog again, it is priceless. Unfortunately hot spring and mud mask still closed because Covid restrictions till further notice. And finally your group decided skip the local market after the lunch. We strongly believe El Valle is an excellent tour for all nature-loving visitors who want to escape the bustle of the city and at the same time want to go hiking or simply enjoy this beautiful town.
star-4
A good tour to get out of the city
Lauren_M
, Sep 2021
This is experience was a good one to get out of the city and see more of Panama. The tour guides were great, the only reason I gave this tour 4 stars instead of 5 was that the hot springs were closed which we were really looking forward to and the golden frogs people were not there the first time we tried to go by. We did end up seeing them but we had to go back a second time. The hot springs being closed was a big disappointment to us. The rest of the tour was great though!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
GREAT TOUR
Dana_W
, Jul 2021
Mario was an AMAAAAAZING Tour Guide! He was extremely patient and kind to me during this tour, especially since I could not do the entire hike myself. We went to an amazing natural spring and saw a beautiful waterfall and so much more! When you book definitely ask for Mario!!!
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Nice you enjoyed the El Valle. For sure is a must to do tour from Panama city. You are welcome anytime.
star-5
Great Tour
Heather_B
, Jun 2021
Wow, what a great tour! The guide and driver went above and beyond to make the day perfect. Although covid has closed some attractions, there was still so much to see and do. The hike was fun and since children and pets do it, it is not overly challenging except for the slippery terrain. The food was great and vegetarian friendly. The butterfly museum and new welcome center were also good. I did not go swimming, but there was an opportunity to view petroglyphs and a waterfall. This tour was amazing with so much to see and do!
icon Response from Host , Jun 2021
Thank you for your kind words, you are welcome anytime.
star-5
Spring of Life and more!
Fascia_E
, Mar 2020
Mario and assistants gave exceptional service! The entire experience was invigorating! Weather was good and lots of sun --cooler than the city! If go again would try mid February! Don't miss the Butterfly exhibit and Zoo! The highlight is the mud face and spring of life swim. Would not have missed this one! Highly recommeded!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Beautiful El Valle Anton
Jeanne_G
, Mar 2020
If you want to get out of Panama City for the day take the El Valle Anton tour. There were 3 in our group and we were the only 3 on the tour with our terrific tour guide Mario. He is very knowledgeable, personable, courteous and professional. El Valley Anton is a beautiful area in the mountains with great weather. Mario took us hiking, experienced the hot springs, applied mud masks, strolled through the local market and tasted delicious local fruits and had lunch together at a local restaurant. A must-do tour and should not be missed.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
A cool, relaxed day if you skip the hike
info
, Feb 2020
I felt specially treated on the tour. When I heard that the main hike is long and up, I opted for a more relaxed day. Was a nice mix of things. The cooler temperature was welcome.
star-5
Best experience in Panama
innajohnsonksa
, Jan 2020
It was two of us: my 25yo daughter (from San Diego hiking every weekend) and 50yo myself (from Tampa hiking once in a blue moon). I will give this activity 6 out of 10 for difficulty (for me, for 50yolder, for my daughter it was 1-2) and 10 out of 10 for fun. It was a wonderful day with our tour guide Mario and few other tourists, we did a lot! we saw a lot! we took unbelievable photos! we had a nice local lunch! lifetime memories for sure. I definitely recommend to buy this trip, it was interesting for both of us.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great to be out of the city to explore ...
Marci_S
, Jan 2020
MyFriendMario.com was an amazing tour guide! Highly recommend anything he does with you in Panama. Catered to higher level hikers and those wanting less intense experience. Super knowledgable and kind, as was his partner Doni Wilson.
star-5
Anton Valley
Sam_A
, Jan 2020
Amazing hike and scenic views. Mario our tour guide is very knowledgeable, funny, knows the area extremely well and is a pleasure to tour with. Highly recommend his tour.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Day Trip to El Valle Anton from Panama City
Day Trip to El Valle Anton from Panama City

star-4.557

10 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.00

star-4.52

8 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$173.00

star-4.5132

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$85.00

star-43

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$198.98

star-4.525

5 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$86.00

star-58

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$145.00

star-00

1 day 4 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$102.57

star-00

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$168.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations