Recent Searches

Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Pompeii, Italy
Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 3 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here


Visit Europe’s largest archeological site and one of Italy’s top attractions on this half-day Naples shore excursion to Pompeii. Your expert local guide offers a comprehensive look at the haunting highlights of Pompeii. See the thermal baths, the Forum, and Lupanare on this tour that is not to be missed, and explore worry-free thanks to Viator’s guaranteed on-time arrival to your ship. If time in Naples is limited, this it the best way to see it all!
  • Guided tour of Pompeii with included admission tickets
  • The Forum, Thermal Baths, and the Lupanare brothel
  • Narration by a professional driver-guide
  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Covered by Viator's worry-free policy: guaranteed on time return to your ship
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Port pickup and drop-off
Transport by shared air-conditioned minibus
Worry-Free Shore Excursion Guarantee
Headsets to hear the guide clearly
Entrance Ticket to Pompeii Archaeological Site (16 euros)
Food and drinks, unless specified
Naples port
9:45 AM
pick up will be outside the dock of your cruise ship, driver will show a sign with your name
Experience the haunting history of Europe’s largest archeological site on this guided tour from Naples. Explore the site of the famous disaster nearly 2,000 years after is occurred and follow your expert local guide through the city’s key landmarks. Explore the Forum, Thermal Baths, and Lupanare brothel as you learn about how some 20,000 inhabitants of this UNESCO World Heritage-listed destination were buried under ash. 

Your tour includes narration from a professional guide, plenty of time to explore Pompeii, round-trip transportation from your ship port and guaranteed on-time return to your boat. 

Worry-free Shore Excursion:

We will ensure your timely return to the Naples port for this activity. In the rare event your ship has departed, we will arrange for transportation to the next port-of-call. If your ship is delayed and you are unable to attend this activity, your money will be refunded. See our terms and conditions for full details.
Stop At:  
Pompeii Archaeological Park
On a fateful summer's day in 79 A.D., Mt. Vesuvius erupted, spewing volcanic ash over the prosperous city of Pompeii. Unaware of the imminent danger, most people continued on with their daily lives and as a result the entire town and around 20,000 of its inhabitants were buried under tons of ash and pumice. Almost 2,000 years later, you have the opportunity to explore the site of this famous disaster and see first-hand the houses, streets and public buildings miraculously preserved by the volcanic ash. Accompanied by your guide, you'll see such fascinating places such as the Forum, Thermal Baths and Lupanare brothel.
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • We require a minimum of 2 participants in total every day to operate this tour. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not at least 2 participants for this tour. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or full refund
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travelers can participate
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 30 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Project Napoli Service
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples.
What is the policy on sanitization during Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples.
What is the social distancing policy during Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples.
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples?
A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "It was a very hot sunny day, so many get an umbrella." See review
  • "We did not climb Vesuvius but apparently this is available as an add on." See review


189 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 189 reviews
Taylor at Pompeii
, Jun 2022
Seeing Pompeii through the eyes of my Granddaughter was thrilling to me the experience is something we we both remember forever, and Rita our tour guide was great
Pompeii, what a day
, Jun 2022
Pompeii was amazing! How they were able to dig up the city, it was a must see. The only bad was it was very hot. I loved the market there also.
Beware the bait and switch, stay away from PNS
, May 2022
If it could be negative it would be!!! Booked small group max of 12, had 52 people in tour - the description THAT DAY stated 12 people. VERY crowded and couldn’t keep up with guide so short range radio kept cutting out and missed most of the tour. Was dropped off at restaurant where we waiting another hour for the bus. After tour that was supposed to have SMALL shared can transport. The bus didn’t arrive for at least another hour. We didn’t leave Pompeii until about 2.5 hours AFTER tour was over - could have had that time on tour. Another group that started with us, on our “SMALL GROUP” tour left the tour and paid for a taxi back to cruise ship. Terrible, uncoordinated, chaos with a lying company- STAY AWAY from this company - PNS - Project Napoli Service - they are NOT trustworthy!!!
icon Response from Host , May 2022
Dear customer we don't know where did you read that we offer tours for small group because it is not correct of course. We are on high season and everyday we transport these elevated numbers and waiting are quite ordinaries when you manage hundred of people at the same time. I hope you enjoyed the visit with our guide at least that it is the main purpose of the tour in the end. My best regards.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Chaotic but got the job done
, Apr 2022
We had limited time for a shore excursion on a cruise that stopped in Naples and had hoped to book an excursion to Pompeii with a small group, but sadly they were sold out. So we booked with a larger group and it happened to be the Thursday before Easter. Glad we found a way to Pompeii but what chaos! At least 4 language groups were herded down there on the same bus then split up among different guides by language once we arrived. Given that it was a holiday and many travelers were out and about, the experience was one of massive crowds. Our English-speaking tour guide had a group of about 30. She was good and managed well given the group size and crowds. Once we were to leave we were gain divided into those who went on to Mt Vesuvius and those who returned to Naples. There was a lot of standing around waiting and guessing where we were going and when. But it all happened. Glad we had the opportunity to see Pompeii but I would never do it again on a holiday or in a large group!
Elisa was an excellent guide!
, Nov 2021
Elisa was an excellent guide! Very engaged and enthusiastic. She had a lot of great stories to tell and made them all very vivid.
A must see!
, Mar 2020
This was one of the sights high on our to do list and it didn’t disappoint. Our guide took us around the town showing us amazing buildings, road, statues, etc. The information she gave us was easy to understand and full of history. If you are spending any time in this part of the country you must visit Pompeii.
Overall pretty good
Danielle H
, Dec 2019
I loved that his excursion included transportation from the Naples port (we were on a cruise ship). The actual tour was roughly 2 hours, I wish it moved along a little faster so we could have seen more. Our tour guide (Francesca) was great and very informational.
Pompeii tour
, Nov 2019
Overall it was very good and our guide was knowledgeable and charismatic. Our pick up from the ship was not there when we arrived and after quite a while of stressful waiting and calling the company the mini bus finally arrived. The Pompeii ruins are awesome and definitely worth a visit;
fun trip
, Nov 2019
nice weather good coach ride, good driver guide was interesting and informative the trip was a day of fun
Tour guide good
, Nov 2019
Guide was good lot of walking. Pick up and drop off sucked the driver was more in the radio and the host was more in to eating and smoking.
Lots of wasted time on this tour
, Nov 2019
Although Pompeii itself was a great site to visit, this tour is not one I would recommend. Our tour guide Francesca was fine but there was a lot of wasted time on this tour. After being picked up from the port and arriving at Pompeii site, we were left there for ~45 mins to visit shops. At the end of the tour we were again left at these shops for another hour. Nobody on any tour needs almost 2 hours to shop. Meanwhile the actual tour of Pompeii itself was a little rushed and we weren't given any time to explore what appeared to be an informative visitor center. It would have been better if we spent a MAXIMUM of 30 minutes at the shops and spent the remaining 1hr+ within the Pompeii site. Avoid this tour.
My bucket list fulfilled!
Lorna l
, Oct 2019
Thanks to Francesca for her guiding us through the history of Pompeii. The tour was a liitle harder than I expected, but her pleasant disposition was a breeze.
Pompeii Excursion of October 22, 2019
, Oct 2019
The tour was very good. Francesa is a very good guide and very knowledgeable. Be prepared to walk a lot. Initially it was hard to find her to get the tour started and we had to call to find out where to congregate. I thought it was a private tour of the 8 of us, but about 12 other people joined too.
Too much time spent waiting for the tour to begin.
, Oct 2019
As soon as the bus got to Pompeii, we were given 30 minutes to shop, eat, or personal needs. The 30 minutes was actually 45 minutes. My wife and I can not walk fast; therefore, the tour leader was often very far ahead of us. There were also some steps my wife could not get up without help. Fortunately a tour member helped her get up the steps. Only 2 times were we able to be at the location the guide was talking about. After approximately 45 minutes, we decided to leave the tour and go back to the plaza meeting spot. I got the feeling that most of the guides we were with did not really care about their guests. To conclude, more time was spent getting ready for the tour than was spent on the tour. We were disappointed.
Pompeii day trip
, Sep 2019
Great trip ,very organised and a very competent guide.our guide made the trip very interesting and was a credit to your company
Not the best Viator supplier
, Sep 2019
The organization wasn’t the best, we were 2 tours (full day and half day) the full day people were rushed through the Pompeii ruins as if they were the 1/2 day tourist. Then when we ended, they gave us an hour to mill around the local tents set up to sell souvenirs. They should have given all of us the option of either seeing more of Pompeii or rushing to get to the “shopping” Most were there to see the ruins. We were on the 1/2 day tour and it was a disappointment that we could have seen much more. The guide also we infatuated with all the phallic symbols throughout. ALL she showed us were those symbols and objects. We had multiple kids 6-10 years old, it was pretty ridiculous. We also just did 2 loops when we could have seen MUCH MUCH More.
Hot time summer in the city
Jerard H
, Aug 2019
We were picked up at our cruise ship and taken to The bus terminal and rail station to pick up additional parties who are going on the tour. Upon arriving at Pompeii we were split into groups depending on which languages we spoke. Our guide was terrific and was able to communicate clearly in our language. She explained all the highlights of Pompeii. Although it said it was a half-day It was almost 7 hours. August is a brutally hot time to visit Pompeii.
Great Tour of Pompeii
, Aug 2019
This half day tour of Pompeii in Naples was eye opening. The air-conditioned bus was great especially in the hot weather and the hours of walking in the heat. Our tour guide Maria spoke in English and was very knowledgeable in the history of Pompeii. We had headsets to hear her clearly as there were crowds of people from other tours at the site. My family and I really enjoyed this tour and would recommend this to everyone.
Great time!
, Aug 2019
We just got off the NCL Epic & used Viator to book our Pompeii excursion. It was an amazing experience. Comfortable bus, & a GREAT tour guide, Maria! She gave us a lot of information, her English was clear to understand & I would definitely recommend seeing Pompeii if you are interested in history.
Very well spent half day in Pompeii
clifton m
, Aug 2019
The tour of Pompeii and the tour guide was absolutely wonderful. While it was very hot in Pompeii the guide did her best to keep us in the shade. Pompeii is a very large place without much protection from the weather and the surface is hard and uneven. The worst part of the tour was congregating at the cruise ship terminal waiting for the tour to begin. The taxi drivers were loud and aggressive. It was very difficult to identify which tour I was a part of.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples
Likely to Sell Out
Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples


4 hours

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation




Free Cancellation



8 hours 25 minutes

Free Cancellation



7 hours

Free Cancellation



8 hours 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations