Recent Searches
Clear

Marietas Islands Snorkel Tour & Hidden Beach

star-4.5309 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Marietas Islands Snorkel Tour & Hidden Beach

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon4 to 6 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Operators have paid Viator more to have their experiences featured here

Overview

Active outdoor enthusiasts will love this snorkeling tour to the Marietas Islands. It includes time at the Hidden Beach, a beautiful strip of sand and sea that only a select few tourists get to see each day because of limited permits. On the boat ride out you may enjoy sightings of dolphins, turtles, manta rays, and whales, while underwater you can check out a colorful array of tropical fish.
  • Use of snorkeling gear is included
  • Snacks and bottled water will be provided
  • National park entrance fees are included
  • Private tours can be organized on request
Saved to wishlist!
Boat ride
Use of life vest
Drink water
Use of Snorkeling equipment
Conservacy donation fee to Bahia Unida
CONANP (Federal gov) fee
Permits for national park
Snacks (Light ham and panela cheese sandwich)
Gratuities
Boarding fee must be paid in cash when check in. MNX$50 (u$3.00)
Hidden beach deposit must be paid in cash upon arrival. (25 USD/550 MNX)
Proa 22 , Proa 22, Marina Vallarta, 48335 Puerto Vallarta, Jal., Mexico

We are located at Marina Vallarta, 5 minutes from the airport. (As a reference we are nearby the Flamingos resort and 8 Tostadas restaurant)

9:00 AM
This activity will end right where it started.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking, unless booked within 1 day of travel. In this case confirmation will be received as soon as possible, subject to availability
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Near public transportation
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Minimum age to access to hidden beach is 10 years old with an adult on the same group. (Must bring ID of minor and adult)
  • People under any influence of alcohol or any drug are not permitted
  • Max age to access to hidden beach is 65 years old (Must bring ID)
  • The snorkeling tour is for ages 6-70 years old (In this case we recommend private family tour)
  • Pregnant travelers are NOT allowed in our tours due to safety of mother and baby.
  • Travelers should have a moderate physical fitness level
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 16 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Eco Explorer Vallarta
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Marietas Islands Snorkel Tour & Hidden Beach ?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Marietas Islands Snorkel Tour & Hidden Beach .
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Marietas Islands Snorkel Tour & Hidden Beach ?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Marietas Islands Snorkel Tour & Hidden Beach .
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Marietas Islands Snorkel Tour & Hidden Beach ?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Marietas Islands Snorkel Tour & Hidden Beach .
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Marietas Islands Snorkel Tour & Hidden Beach ?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Marietas Islands Snorkel Tour & Hidden Beach .

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Reviews

4.5
star-4.5
309 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 309 reviews
star-5
Great experience
Gloria_P
, Aug 2022
Rough seas but our guides Lisandro & Ricardo were fantastic they were very professional & watched every second so that our experience would b pleasurable had a great time
star-5
We enjoyed this trip very...
Mark_D
, Aug 2022
We enjoyed this trip very much! The boat ride took about an hour, and we had to wait a bit to get the government clearance to go to the island. Although the swim was difficult and the time on the island short, it was a memorable experience.
star-5
Snorkeling in Puerto Vallarta
Leslie_H
, Aug 2022
Snorkeling through a cave tunnel to a beautiful, secluded beach was exciting and so much fun! During the hourlong boat ride, our tour guide and boat pilot were courteous, friendly and very informative about our surroundings.
star-5
Perfect day out to la Playa del Amor
Jessica_H
, Aug 2022
This tour was fantastic! Everything was very easy from check-in to return. The beach was lovely, the weather cooperated, and the guides were top notch. Carlos was so funny and made sure we had everything we needed throughout the day, and Emilio made us feel very safe in the boat ride there and back. 100% recommend to anyone visiting the Puerto Vallarta area!
star-5
Our guide, Carlos, knew how to navigate our day & make it a priceless experience!
Katherine_H
, Aug 2022
The most memorable part of the trip was the beauty of the different types of terrain on the island. Thanks for a wonderful day.
star-1
Horrible experience
magdalenavillalobos
, Jul 2022
Single mom traveling with 3 adult teenagers. We travel quite a bit and this is one of the worst experiences we have had. At least 4 different families on board. We leave towards the hidden beach. One of the tour guide has the desire to direct his conversation towards me only. Stated I should remove my eye make up because it will burn my eyes when I get in the water…responding by saying I’m not wearing any eye make up. He then said then my face will burn?! Lol! Not the my first time in the ocean stupid but chose not to respond since my children were there. Keep in mind there are other women with makeup on this boat. He then tells us that only 9 people can go in so 2 will NOT get to go. Confusing since he is only talking to me. I had read about this so my 17 year old son said he would stay on the boat. I was talking to my kids and telling them that I would stay in the boat and they 3 should go. It’s a family discussion when tour guide starts yelling at me again saying that a decision has to be made and just yelling. I turned to him and told him to please stay out of my family conversation that i was staying so my kids could go. That’s when he told everyone that decisions like this have to be made and it was up to the tourists to decide amongst themselves. That he would not intervene and let the guests decide ourselves pushing everyone to open up a dialogue about who gets to go and who doesn’t. He also recounted how he has seen his guests come to “blows”… oh my. No one said a word… plus i sacrificed my experience so my kids could go. He then stood at the front of the boat called out my name and said that I’d have to sacrifice 2 spots. I did respond and asked why he was picking on me and how he thought that was fair given the fact that there were at least 4 families. Now I’d have to pick amongst my kids. We did for the sake of peace. My son and I stayed on the boat and did not go on the excursion. Other guests did come up to thank us and to tell us how bad they felt. Stayed on the boat with my son only to have the second tour guide come give me a hard time too! OMG!!! We just wanted off that boat. My son had to ask him to please just let us enjoy the view since there was not much more to do while the others came back. Made me and the kids feel awful and not a great way to start your day on your family vacay. Pick another boat or tour. Plenty of them to pick from that will not overbook to then make you fight for a spot and will not disrespect you to that level.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2022
Hello Magdalena, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I am sorry the conditions were not great about your tour. About the spots available are not under our control, when we are not given all the spots we need for our customers than we assign spots depending on the date the booking was made, unfortunately your booking was the last. We wished we had all the spots for everyone like other days, this month is high season and 3% of our customers cannot do the activity sometimes. Kind regards, Eco Explorer.
star-5
Absolutely Beautiful
Michael_P
, Jul 2022
The guides were the best ever. The swim to Hidden Beach is not easy and they stay with you to make sure you get there safely.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Awesome way to spend your day.
Lesli_N
, Jul 2022
The islands and birds were gorgeous and unique. The snorkeling was so fun! The Hidden Beach was spectacular. We felt like we saw something really special. It was truly the perfect day! Alex and Eli were the best tour guide and captain too!
star-5
100000% would recommend to others!!!!!
AngelicaJoy
, Jul 2022
This tour was definitely one of the highlights of our trip to PVR! Key considerations: - The tour guide was personable and friendly, very knowledgeable about the area and offered lots of great information! Even knew the best angles to take photos on Playa Del Amor - The boat ride was smooth and very enjoyable (we even saw dolphins and a turtle up close to the boat on the way back, but keep in mind this is very dependent on the day and isn't guaranteed). - The swim was definitely more difficult than I had originally thought, but 100% worth it! You are supplied with a life vest and helmet, and surrounded by group members and led by the tour guide. Although it can be difficult with the waves, you are undoubtedly in good hands! - Considering the views, the wildlife, the tour around the islands, the snorkeling, and the beautiful beach itself, this tour is very worth it! - Be sure to keep in mind that you may not be able to visit Playa Del Amor as this is limited and dependent on the decision of the guards (NOT EcoExplorers), but I would say its worth taking the chance :)
star-3
Taking too long rime to...
Jungboo_K
, Jul 2022
Taking too long rime to reach there. Not so much exciting to be there. Not much coral to be observed.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2022
Thanks for your post… sorry to read about your experience, as you know is an island tour, the boat ride is about an hour to get there. Probably according the conditions of the day, currents may change and the guides decide to move the snorkel spot for your convenience and the place may not have enough coral. Thanks again and hope to see you back soon.
star-4
Snorkeling was good other...
Robert_M
, Jun 2022
Snorkeling was good other then the fact that there are many small jellyfish in the water thus we were stung many times. We also visited the hidden beach which was great. What wasn't so great was that only 7 on our boat of 9 were allowed to go to the hidden beach. Not sure how this happens. Seems as though our boat missed the call when it was our turn and thus only got 7 passes.
star-1
Terrible tour.
JAVIER_R
, Jun 2022
It is a fraud. We paid for the tour for 2 people $197 dollars that included the Hidden Beach (Isla del Amor) and upon arrival, we had to pay another $55 dollars for the entrance to the Hidden Beach “again” and another charge for $5 dollars. To top of it, they did not guarantee us the entrance to the hidden beach. We were only offered a very poor sandwich and a bottle of water, a very deteriorated life jacket, and a Snorkel equipment without properly sanitizing. We were in a hurry to take photos and couldn’t enjoy the Snorkel and the interior of the Hidden Beach. Terrible tour compared to other tours that offer more time, food and open bar for half the price we paid.
icon Response from Host , Jun 2022
Hi Javier, first we would like to thank you for taking your time for a review. We would like to apologize about you mentioned, but we want to clarify some pints because you said is fraud, our tour is a dedicated snorkeling tour on a fast and custom made boat to have personalized attention in and out of the water, the amount you pay is for the tour, we offer extra activity named hidden beach which is not included and is optional, you decide once you check in if you would like to participate or not, but if you do, that’s the extra $25 usd fee. Also the other fee which is not included is the marina dock fee, just for the dock usage. We include on the tour the 2 wristbands that every passenger has to wear during the visit to the islands, the other providers they do not include them. The main reason we do not offer breakfast during our tour, we depart at 9 and we are coming back around 1:30, the others you mention yea they include breakfast and lunch because they are coming back around 6 pm and because of that we just offer a snack after the in water activities which is not a complete lunch, and we have the tour made like that because the time after the tour, is the right time for a full lunch and each one of our visitors have the chance to decide where to eat, some of them has all included at their resort and some others love to eat around the marina on one of the very delicious seafood restaurants. About the life jackets we have them all pretty new and we have several extras on board, sorry if the one you use was deteriorated, we will look for it and take it out. About the snorkel gear there are all sanitize every day right after we arrive to the marina. The time that the government allow for hidden beach activity is just 30 min starting when the rangers provide your helmets, that’s the main reason we would like to hurry a little in the swimming to have more time in side the beach and apply for all the providers not just us. Again, sorry if you did not enjoy your tour and we appreciate this post to have the chance to clarify possible doubts to someone else who are planning to do this tour with us or someone else. Best regards and thanks for your visit, we hope to have the chance to provide another different experience in the near future.
star-5
Magical Murrieta Island
Clarissa_R
, Jun 2022
The most memorable parts were seeing sea turtles, tropical fishes when snorkeling, a dolphin, learning about their wildlife on the island, and the amazing entertaining tour guide and Captain we had... Eric and Martin.
star-5
Highly recommended and be prepared to swim!
Sam_B
, Jun 2022
The boat ride is a bit boring but not too long. There’s a moderate swim from the boat 🛥 to the beach 🏝 that will require some serious stamina. Because the island wildlife must be protected from pollutants/noise contamination the boats can’t get too close so you’re looking at a swim of 50-70 yards. Good news is it’s not crowded and peaceful. The animals are spoiled and not too scared of humans so it feels very relaxed and even while snorkeling you can almost touch the fishes because they are so oblivious. Be prepared to swim! Highly recommended
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Worth the swim!
MARY_L
, Jun 2022
Checked something off the bucket list that we never knew about. Got lucky getting into the hidden beach since it has 116 daily limit. The swim was tough, but worth it. The guide was great and so helpful!
star-5
Great adventure!
Jon_S
, Jun 2022
Carlos was an exceptionally good guide; knowledgeable on island info and snorkeling. He was fun and engaging! The trip over and back was so much quicker with their twin engine boats than the catamarans. Definitely would go again with this company as long as we get Carlos!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great experience!
Amanda_M
, Jun 2022
This tour was really awesome! Carlos and the gang were very kind and knowledgeable, and it was fun learning about the reserve and seeing all the fish, and of course hidden beach! It was gorgeous!!
star-5
Yes, it includes the Hidden Beach
Jareth_L
, May 2022
The tour is just what you expect from a Marietas Islands’ tour: secure arrival, certified guides, authorized entrance to Hidden Beach and a breathtaking snorkel experience.
star-5
Had a great time
Sue_C
, May 2022
Exactly what we expected. Nice boat ride to the island, awesome snorkeling, and fun times. Tour guides were informative and friendly. We had a great time.
star-5
Snorkel Tour Marietas & Hidden Beach 05222022
Ana_H
, May 2022
This was awesome! We wanted a snorkel tour as well as to see the Hidden Beach (Marietas), and the guides gave us a great experience! You're fitted for fins, take a covered boat to the Marietas islands, receive a tour around the islands, receive a snorkel and see the underwater sights, then receive helmets and swim to the cove/hidden beach. Each group is only allowed a limited time at the hidden beach (due to regulations), but it's more than enough time to enjoy the experience and take some pictures. You're not allowed to take any sand/shells/etc from the islands due to national park regulations, but bring your cell in a waterproof case or bring a waterproof camera for the experience. On the boat ride back they provide you a lunch and water, but if you chill easily bring a towel, etc. We opted for this guide/company because we wanted a smaller group setting. This was great for the snorkel instruction, snorkel activity in the water, and less crowded at the Hidden Beach. With this company and smaller group, we get to the islands on a faster boat (other companies with larger groups took slower catamarans, but were very crowded), and we got to see the hidden beach, which is only allowed a certain number of visitors each day. Definitely recommend!

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Marietas Islands Snorkel Tour & Hidden Beach
Marietas Islands Snorkel Tour & Hidden Beach

star-4.5309

4 to 6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$98.71

star-585

3 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$110.00

star-542

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$170.00

star-3.511

8 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.02

star-4.5849

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$89.00

star-4.528

3 hours 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$149.00

star-3.547

9 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$62.00

star-3.58

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$95.00

star-59

2 hours 20 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$280.00
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations