Recent Searches
Clear

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Skip the Line to Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel with a no-wait access to St Peter's Basilica

|
Roma, Italy

COVID-19: Check local travel restrictions and learn what we're doing to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Loading available options...


icon2 hours 30 minutes  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 5 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Skip the long lines in Vatican City on this guided walking tour. The itinerary includes the Vatican Museums filled with an impressive collection of art amassed by popes throughout the centuries and Michelangelo's frescoes in the Sistine Chapel. The tour ends with a visit to St. Peter's Basilica, one of the biggest churches in the world.
  • Learn about the religious significance from the art historian guide
  • This tour is ideal for first-time visitors to Rome
  • Avoid waiting in long lines with this tour option
  • The tour is wheelchair accessible
Saved to wishlist!
Headsets to hear the guide clearly
Professional art historian guide
Skip the line service
Hotel pickup and drop-off
Entrance Tickets (Tickets will be available at the meeting point)

Departure Point

Largo del Colonnato, Roma RM, Italy

Departure Time

3:00 PM

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • A dress code is required to enter places of worship and selected museums. No shorts or sleeveless tops allowed. Knees and shoulders MUST be covered for both men and women. You may risk refused entry if you fail to comply with these dress requirements
  • Availability for shows cannot be checked without making a booking. Credit cards will only be charged upon confirmation of show availability
  • On Wednesdays the access to St. Peter's Basilica and the Square may be closed in the morning from 8am to 12am due to the Papal Audience
  • • Visitors must pass through metal detectors at the security check point. Please expect to wait 20-30 minutes to clear security, Vatican City State could close without advising some areas of the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and the Basilica, for all these sudden closures agency is not responsible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Infant seats available
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Get Your Tour & Tickets

All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.

  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Skip the Line to Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel with a no-wait access to St Peter's Basilica?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Skip the Line to Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel with a no-wait access to St Peter's Basilica.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Skip the Line to Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel with a no-wait access to St Peter's Basilica?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Skip the Line to Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel with a no-wait access to St Peter's Basilica.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Skip the Line to Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel with a no-wait access to St Peter's Basilica?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Skip the Line to Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel with a no-wait access to St Peter's Basilica.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Skip the Line to Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel with a no-wait access to St Peter's Basilica?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 50 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Skip the Line to Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel with a no-wait access to St Peter's Basilica.

Reviews

2.0
star-2
53 Reviews
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 53 reviews
star-1
Don't buy this!
Roderick_M
, Oct 2020
Don't buy this! Book through the official website. You won't get sent a ticket that gives you access to the museum, and you won't be able to skip the queue at the basilica. Complete waste of cash.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Scam
Marie_M
, Sep 2020
The place to meet with impossible to find and then guide called 5 minutes before the tour and ask to come on the other side of the city to pick up tickets, I went there and they told me that the tour was gone. Complete scam.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Tour refused
Dora_C
, Sep 2020
The tour was refused because I didn’t want to pay more 31€ requested at the meeting point. So far no reply about the claim neither refund.
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Too long
Napoleon114
, Oct 2019
The tour guide was very nice but the tour was longer than necessary. We started about 1 hour late, and didn’t go inside the Sistine Chapel or Basilica until the last 15 mins. We were in a rush because we had dinner reservations, so we asked if we could skip the speaking part, and just head to the chapel and basilica. However, we were told that we could not go without the guide, despite our tickets. Would not recommend this tour if you’re in a hurry, but if you like very detailed history and have a lot of time, then this tour is for you.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Not great
Aoife R
, Oct 2019
The guide was difficult to understand and we were rushed through at the end and barely got to see the sistine Chapel
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Worst tour I’ve ever been on
Journey14998220884
, Jun 2019
This was the worst tour I have ever been on. First and for most we couldn’t find the tour guide as they were huddled in a small corner behind a crowd of people with no sign. There was no way we would of found the group if we didn’t ask another company where to find them. Secondly the tour guide spoke English but barely and if was very difficult to understand her. When you buy a skip the line tour you think you would skip the line yet we waiting in line for 1 hour in 95 degree heat with no shade. Once in the Vatican museum we ran out of time before we even started since the Vatican / basilica have a closing time we had less than 30 mins to tour. The tour guide ran out of head sets and suggested if anyone wanted to take off and tour alone to go for it. We were so disappointed by this point we took off. Terrible customer service, terrible organization, terrible all around. Would not recommend.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2019
Dear Customer, we are sorry for this review, even because we advised you that day the Vatican would be very crowded and we offered you a refund or to do the tour the day after and you said:"don't worry". So I think it is not our fault, but your own choice to do a tour that is not like it normally is. I don't think this review is relevant. Best regards.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Best to avoid
Seaside51511026729
, May 2019
DIFFICULT to find start of tour, friendly person though. WAITED over 90 minutes before we got to queue for security (20 minutes, not VIATOR's fault). Guide Naomi was very knowledgeable and initially gave great detail, but as rooms were so BUSY she eventually gave up and simply ensured we followed. Every exhibit was COMPLETELY SURROUNDED by people and there were CRUSHES at all the doors and stairs. For the most part it was just a CRUSH and IMPOSSIBLE for the guide to explain anything. Same in the Sistine Chapel and Basilica, but at least there the main sights are above you. Time in the museums and Sistine was just ONE HOUR - not the advertised time. Overall an UNPLEASANT EXPERIENCE only saved by the artwork in the Sistine and grandeur of the Basilica. I recommend you find another tour.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
The vendor Is a Scam
Sightsee52786759308
, Apr 2019
The company Viator has hired at the Vatican are not legit. They did not have tickets ahead of time nor was the tour ever a skip the line. We had to wait in line with everyone else to get tickets. They will try to say it was a skip line for security but that wasn’t so either. Then they purchased our tickets with their cc for $17 each and charged us all $31.00 each. Our wait was 3 hours and the skip the line line was empty! Do not use this tour!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Tour guide was invisible
Tour828017
, Apr 2019
Waiting and asking all the other tour guides where this guide was to meet us, no one knew the answer. We never got the tour. I gave it one star or I couldn’t publish my review.
HelpfulHelpful
star-3
Good
Safari25586206377
, Jan 2019
Great attraction. Guide was slightly hard to understand at times. She just just left us in the chapel.
HelpfulHelpful

Product code: 9208P1

Explore Similar Things to Do