Recent Searches
Clear

Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour

|
San Francisco, United States
Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour
29
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon7 hours  (Approx.)
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Take away the stress and uncertainty from booking an Alcatraz tour with this package that includes Alcatraz ferry tickets and a 90 min tour of Chinatown. Get practical tips from your guide on visiting Alcatraz then follow them through the heart of the largest Chinese community in the Western World. This is the perfect way to spend half a day in San Francisco enjoying some of its quintessential experiences with the help of a local who is on hand both to guide you and sort out logistics.
  • Experience two contrasting sides of San Francisco with a trip to Alcatraz and Chinatown
  • An audio guide provides narration for your tour of Alcatraz
  • A guide escorts you through the maze of vibrant streets that makes up the heart of Chinatown
Saved to wishlist!
Alcatraz Island Ticket including round trip ferry and audio guide
Guided walking tour of Chinatown and North Beach
Expert local guide
Tasting and demonstration at Golden Gate Fortune Cookie Factory
Special hand-made, custom fortune cookie to go
Gratuities
Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off

Departure Point

10 Mark Ln, San Francisco, CA 94108, USA

Departure Time

10:00 AM

Return Details

San Francisco, CA, USA
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • This is a walking tour. Guests should be able to walk at a moderate pace without difficulty.
  • All guests must supply the name and birthdate of everyone visiting the island at least 10 days prior to your tour. Should you fail to provide these, your reservation will be canceled.
  • All guests (over 18) must bring ID on the day of their tour. Without ID, Alcatraz Cruises will not release your ticket for you to travel to Alcatraz.
  • Last-minute amendments are not possible due to the venue regulations
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers
  • OPERATED BY Take Walks New York by Walks

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Temperature checks for travelers upon arrival
See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 20 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "I would wear comfortable shoes and always bring a jacket!" See review

Reviews

4.0
star-4
36 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 36 reviews
star-5
Prison break
kaylee_b
, Jul 2021
Maggie was a great tour guide and made our experience well worth it! I would recommend to any travelers.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hi Kaylee, We love your review! Thank you so much - we will of course pass your amazing comments on to Maggie!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Bad experience all around
Steve_M
, Jul 2021
The experience on the rock was tremendous, but getting the tickets was horrendous. We were instructed to go to a meeting place in the city, upon arrival we met up with other groups waiting for the tour guide. We waited for a hour and half and no one ever showed up, we attempted to contact the company but we're unsuccessful.People in the other groups were able to make contact with someone and we were told to go to pier 33. Upon arrival at the location we secured our tickets and we're told because we're late we would be put on standby. After waiting about 30 minutes we boarded the boat and went to alkatraz. We never received our guided tour to china town, for the amount of time wasted this was a astronamical loss rest assured we will never book with this company again.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We want to start by apologizing for the confusing information you got regarding the meeting place. Recently, there have been some changes due to Covid and our instructions were mixed between dates and distributors - a few dates with misleading instructions went out that should not have. Again, we apologize and cannot apologize enough we were part of any disturbance in your trip.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Horrible Experience
Terri_R
, Jul 2021
Our flight was cancelled out of Fl the night before our scheduled tour so we did not get to go. Walking Tours would Not refund any of our 693.00. Although we tried to cancel as soon as JetBlue cancelled out flights with no other flights available, it was less than 24 hrs prior to our scheduled tour. Our Girl Scout Troop had saved for years for this trip and are devastated by this HUGE loss. We are very disappointed that we could not get a retund or vouchers that we could use next summer when we plan on rescheduling this trip. We are not sure we will be able to take this tour next year because of the lack of funds. Please be aware of their unwillingness to work with anyone during the ever changing issues cause by the COVID pandemic. In our case, it was the lack of employees available to actually man the airplane. In fact, our flight was “delayed” for several hours before actually being cancelled.
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
Hello Terri, I was really sorry to read this review. Our tours are refundable up to 24hours but within that time we do try to find a solution that works for our guests. On investigation, I see you were reimbursed with vouchers to the full value of your tour. If there is anything else we can do to assist please do contact us again.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Awesome day trip
Sofya_M
, Jul 2021
Maggie was awesome! She came a little early and was ready to answer all of our questions. She made sure everyone was set up with the audio tour before we went on the Island. She even had a list of different places we can eat on our break between alcatraz and the China town tour. Once we met again for the second part, Maggie had great insight of the area! The history tour was great but her personal experiences made the tour so easy going and relatable. She showed us areas we would have never seen if we didn't do the second part of the tour. Overall we were so comfortable with her and had such a great time. I would wear comfortable shoes and always bring a jacket!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Do not use this tour company!!
Andrea_B
, Jul 2021
Not fun day. Alcatraz was of course great and Chinatown was ok- but the tour itself was a joke. They made us meet across the street at 10 (when tour started)- just to waste time and tell us to walk across the street and get in line by 11 to get on boat to Alcatraz. No guide- nothing but what a regular to let to Alcatraz could have done. THEN- we were supposed to kill 5hrs til we had to be in China town at 3:45. Not one single person from the 20 person tour group showed up except me and my son. It was ridiculous timing and very disappointing. The meeting point was literally in a dark alley at an Irish pub. Uber couldn’t even find it cuz it’s not a real road. A new guide Blair did our tour. He was fine. Just odd that the main lady passed it on to him. But she made sure to tell us she accepts and lives off tips. Sad really. DO NOT DO THIS TOUR
icon Response from Host , Jul 2021
We apologize your experience in our care was not the standard we have set for ourselves and the standard we always try to deliver to our clients. Our Alcatraz tour has recently been redesigned to address some of your concerns. We also apologize your guide solicited a gratuity - this is not within our policy and we have addressed it with the guide. Although you didn't feel the value in our tour - and a 1-star review puts a damper on our day, we value your feedback and have taken actions to assure our clients are only getting the best of the best.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
My sons 13th Birthday weekend
Monica_P
, May 2021
My sons 13th Birthday weekend. Everything was awesome!! My son and I had a great time!! We went on this tour and stayed at the Grand Hyatt, my son has never gotten to see SF at night. I got us a room with a city/bay view on the 28th floor and he was so stoked!!
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Hi Monica, so glad you and your son enjoyed your stay in San Francisco and our Alcatraz and Chinatown tour. Thank you for your feedback - it means the world to us to know we are part of your great memories.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Great
Alberto_R
, May 2021
Eddie was amazing, and super attentive to any question my group had. 10/10. Nice meeting you! Thanks again!
icon Response from Host , May 2021
I am so glad that you had such a lovely time with Eddy!
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
My guide was awesome but Alcatraz disappointed
Janette_R
, Oct 2020
I loved Leanne our guide she was awesome! Unfortunately no one from Viator explained to me that they were not allowing anyone inside the Alcatraz buildings. So my husband and I were extremely disappointed. This was my husband’s first time in California and it was his birthday gift. I hope someone will reach out to me to provide some compensation because for the amount of money I spent it was definitely Not worth it.
icon Response from Host , May 2021
Hi Janette, We are happy to hear that LeAnne was an awesome guide but sorry your expectations of the tour itself weren't met. In the time you visited San Francisco, Alcatraz experienced last-minute closures of their interior spaces, something that happened swiftly due to COVID 19 and we did not have the opportunity to advise you of this. We understand this must have been very disappointing but in all of this, some things were out of our control. We hope you understand our own limitations on this and that your time with our guide improved your visit in some ways. Please let us know if you plan to visit again as we would love to have you with us.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Hard to get Answers
MLO
, Sep 2020
So we didn't actually go on the full tour. The 2nd half of the tour was canceled the day before. I guess our tour guide got into a car accident which is horrible. But we were not given very clear directions on what we were suppose to do. First we were told that the tour actually started at 10:00 a.m. not 9:00 a.m which is the time stated on Viator. Something they should update on the website. We get there a little before 10:00 & we are told by a security guard the 1st ferry doesn't even leave until 11:00. Something we were also not told. We tried calling the tour company but I guess they are not open on the weekends. We called Viator & they couldn't get a hold of them either. We weren't even sure we had tickets for 11:00 because we were told 10:00. We were also only given half credit which means we paid $50 each for our Alcatraz tour. If we bought tickets directly, they are $40 so we were overcharged $10 for each ticket. I emailed to ask why but they never responded. We never met with a tour guide for even a second, couldn't even talk with the tour company so have no idea what the extra $10 was for... My rating is base mostly on wrong information given & the fact they don't respond to questions. We understand that guides have lives & things happen.
icon Response from Host , Apr 2021
Hi MLO, We are sorry to hear that your experience wasn't what you were expecting. Alcatraz does not confirm ticket times for their tours until (at most) 21-days prior to the date of the tour, so in order to sell this tour, we must state 9:00 am. We manage this by stating on the page you are buying our tour with "Due to Alcatraz's changing schedule, the tour operator will contact you within 10-days of your tour to confirm your ticket time." This is standard for all operators who sell tickets on Viator. As you are very much aware, at the time you visited San Francisco, we were in the midst of the global pandemic - news was changing daily and sites were being closed rapidly with little notice. For our part in any of your confusion during those unchartered time, we apologize. Please let us know if you plan to take another trip this year - we would love to have you with us.
HelpfulHelpful1 traveler found this review helpful
star-1
TERRIBLE
lholthus
, Feb 2020
Our experience was AWFUL! You ripped us off! You charged us more than double and we didn’t get any additional tickets other than Alcatraz! And you changed the itinerary from what I originally purchased! I would NEVER RECOMMEND YOUR SERVICE!
icon Response from Host , Feb 2020
I apologize you feel you didn't get what you paid for. Our company had every intention of fulfilling exactly what you bought - a ticket to Alcatraz, a Cable Car ticket, and a 1.5 hour walking tour. I'd like to explain so you don't feel "ripped off" by us. It took a little bit of digging around but we found the miscommunication. We try to ensure through multiple communication that all clients who purchase this understand that they are to meet the guide at the meeting point very close to Alcatraz Landing, but unfortunately, it seems you went directly to the ticket booth at Alcatraz. We are looking at how to even further make this clear. Alcatraz is the operator of the cruises but not of the tour you bought. I hope that makes sense. We, as the tour operator have all your tickets for the day but I know they did give you your Alcatraz tickets. But they wouldn't of had your Cable Car tickets - your guide was with the group just across the street at the meeting point with them! We really wished you had shown up at the meeting point and let us make your experience in San Francisco one that all visitors deserve!
HelpfulHelpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour
Current
Alcatraz Island Ticket with Chinatown and North Beach Guided Walking Tour

star-436

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$99.00

star-4.5178

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$73.60

star-4.550

1 hour 15 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$100.87

star-42106

6 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$120.00

star-5615

2 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$55.00

star-5203

7 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$169.00

star-4.554

6 hours 50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$99.00

star-560

3 hours

Free Cancellation

From
$69.00

Explore Similar Things to Do