Recent Searches
Clear

Travel update: We’re doing our best to help keep you safe and your plans flexible. Learn more.

Read More

Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea

star-3.5
|
Taormina, Italy

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults
Free Cancellation
up to 24 hours in advance
Loading available options...


icon13 to 14 hours  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 2 more

Keeping you safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travelers in public areas
Face masks required for guides in public areas
Face masks provided for travelers
Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Guides required to regularly wash hands
More questions?
(888) 651-9785

Overview

Discover the Aeolian Archipelago on this day trip to the islands of Stromboli and Panarea from Taormina. Journey to each island by motorboat, exploring the local shops at your leisure or taking a cool dip in the sea. Afterward, cruise around Stromboli to see the island’s volcano. Keep your eyes peeled for the crater of Sciara del Fuoco, known to light up the sky with its jet-like eruptions. After a full day of touring the UNESCO-listed islands, return to Taormina.
  • Day trip from Taormina to Panarea and Stromboli in the Aeolian Archipelago
  • Leave Taormina by coach and travel by motorboat around the UNESCO-listed islands
  • Enjoy free time to explore the tiny island of Panarea
  • Spend time at leisure on Stromboli island and discover black lava-sand beaches
  • See Stromboli’s volcanic activity at Sciara del Fuoco from a viewpoint on the water
Air-conditioned vehicle
Transport between islands by motorboat
Multilingual Tour escort/host
Lunch, Dinner
Eco tax at the Port of Milazzo (approx. 5 euros between 1st June - 30th September and 2.5 euros from the 1st to the 31st October). Please note the amount may be subject to changes during the season.

Departure Point

1: Via Luigi Pirandello, 36c, 98039 Taormina ME, Italy
2: Recanati Bus Terminal, Viale Dionisio, 12, 98035 Giardini Naxos ME, Italy
3: 98037 Letojanni, Province of Messina, Italy

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
Hop aboard your coach in Taormina and travel north to the Port of Milazzo. Board your motorboat and glide through the Tyrrhenian Sea to the island of Panarea, nestled in the UNESCO-listed Aeolian Archipelago.

Enjoy time to explore the small, scenic island at your leisure. Wander the local shops in the whitewashed village, try the island fare at a café or take in views of the water from the beach.

Afterward, reunite with your host and head across the water to Stromboli, named after its active volcano. Check out the black lava-sand beach and soak up additional free time to roam the village. Back on your boat, you can enjoy a light dinner as the sun sets (own expense).

Top off your trip with an evening boat ride around the island to see Stromboli’s volcano in action. Head to a clear spot to view the crater of Sciara del Fuoco, where you witness bright, liquid lava explode into the night sky. Small eruptions occur regularly, so be sure to have your camera ready.

After a full day of sightseeing, you are returned to Taormina.
Itinerary
Pass By:  
Capo di Milazzo
Reach Milazzo and get on board the motorboat
Stop At:  
Chiesa di San Pietro in Panarea
Free time on the island of Panarea
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Stromboli Volcano
Visit the island of Stromboli
Duration: 2 hours 
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • The conduct of maritime excursions, as well as being affected by weather and sea conditions, is always subordinate to the decisions of the shipping company and the authorities.
  • This tour is operated in English, German, Italian. All 3 languages will be spoken during the tour.
  • Recommended clothing: wind jacket, hat, bathing suit, towel and sunscreen lotion
  • From September departure will be anticipated by one hour.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 79 travelers

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea?
A:
The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Face masks provided for travelers
See all safety measures taken by Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea?
A:
The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea?
A:
The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea?
A:
The policy on staff health & safety is:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
See all safety measures taken by Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea?
A:
This activity will have a maximum of 79 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Aeolian Islands Day Trip from Taormina: Stromboli and Panarea.

Traveler Photos

Traveler Tips


  • "However the trip can be recommended as a must during a stay in Sicily." See review
  • "It was a long day's travel, but worth the effort and expense." See review

Reviews

3.5
star-3.5
155 Reviews
5 stars
43
4 stars
39
3 stars
33
2 stars
21
1 star
19
Reviews by Viator travelers
Showing 1-10 of 155 reviews
star-4
Memorable Day
2Cfun
, May 2019
Very convenient pick up near our hotel. Long bus ride from Giardini Naxos, but enjoyed the islands. Not much to see in Panarea. Very small town, but really enjoyed Stromboli. Wonderful cafe near the church up on the hill with great view, good food, and reasonable prices. While on Stromboli, we would hear the vocano rumble. It sounded like thunder and then you could see activity on Stromboli. We went in May and the boat was not very crowded, except when many passengers went to the top deck to get the evening pics of Stromboli. My only recommendation is it would be helpful if the guide could try to face the passengers when doing her talks. It was very hard to understand what she was saying and really wanted to hear her information. Don't know if this would be possible, but would help to appreciate her information. Recommend.
star-2
Unexpectedly Long and Rocky Sea Trip
Erica C
, Oct 2018
Our tour guide Heidi was very nice and knowledgeable. This trip was just unexpectedly long, lots of driving and boating hours, way more than 12 hours as advertised. And there was a very shaky period towards the end when the boat sat still while waiting for lava eruption from Stromboli island but this was like torture! Boat was so rocky and everyone was puking left and right. It would have been nice to get a fair warning about this so people can come prepared and take the proper medication beforehand so there wont be any sea sickness. Plus the food on the boat was terrible.
star-1
Strmobolli and Panarea
Paul G
, Sep 2018
There was no actual tour but just transportation first by coach and then by ferry to both islands.The ferries were overcrowded.
icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
Hello, we are sorry you did not catch the sense of the tour due to the crowd. Our tour is a mini cruise with tour guide and expalnation. September is indeed a peak month for the Aeolian Islands so probably you did not have the possibility to enjoy the time all the way. Cordial regards. Guest Relations Manager SAT Group
star-5
Beautiful boat journey, a once in a...
Peter B
, Jul 2018
Beautiful boat journey, a once in a lifetime experience. Tour guide communicated clearly about the islands. The islands where very small and we were given plenty of time to go and explore. We witnessed the volcano erupting which was amazing and the sun set was fabulous. A great day out.
star-5
Nice day trip
MEN45
, Jul 2018
We, a family of five (two adults, three kids), had an enjoyable day out at sea getting to know the Panarea and Stromboli islands. Our guide (Salvatore?) was quite knowledgeable about the islands and island life in general and illustrated many of the things we saw with nice anecdotes. Contrary to many of the other reviews we did not find the boat or the islands too crowded. There was ample space to choose the seats from on board and the captain turned the boat around so that everyone could get a good view of the sights from where they sat. Unfortunately the weather was not the best possible as the top of Stromboli was covered in clouds and the volcano itself dormant. This is, however, something that cannot be guaranteed in advance. Would still definitely recommend to those who have not visited Mediterranean islands or seen an active volcano before.
star-3
Beautiful islands but a very long day
Carter58
, Jul 2018
What the info about the tour doesn't tell you is how long the trip to and from the islands are and that the trip turns out to be a 14 hour day....way too long! First you have to meet at a designated spot...for us a 15-20 minute walk to the bus station from our hotel in Taormina. A large bus picks you up for an hour and 20 minute drive down a very tight and winding road to the port. Then another hour and 20 minute boat ride to the first island. You're on the island for 2+ hours (could be a shorter time since not much to see or do) then back on the boat for 20 minutes to Strombolli for another 2+ hours. Then back on the boat to go near the volcano to possibly see lava and finally the long boat and bus ride to be dropped off at 12:30 a.m. to walk back to our hotel. I would not recommend this tour unless you don't mind the everyone day. And the tour guide had to repeat e everything in 3-4 languages which was annoying.....perhaps giving everyone a flyer with the info. I loved the Etna food and wine tour and would highly recommend doing that instead.
star-1
Awful! Again, the guide did not...
Kenalyn C
, Jun 2018
Awful! Again, the guide did not tell us much. The boat was too crowded and it was rough going out....many people were soaked when the waves crashed and we were on the upper deck. Because there is no space, everyone is pushing each time you get back on the ship trying to get a decent viewing seat.. This experience was also awful. Why not have the staff create a queue on the pier? Panarea was hot and nothing to do after we ate lunch. Should have had more time on Stromboli. With scant directions, we found the beach, but it was already in shadow...having missed our best beach time on Panarea. The return was a bigger nightmare. Huge waves and numerous people ill, which was not improved by the crew taking smoke breaks at the back where people were retching! Never saw the fire, which was just as well,because there were not enough seats and too many people to see out the windows. This ship is not well equipped for this excursion. There are local ships that were excellent and not crowded. A long, tiring, expensive day!
star-5
This was a great tour, got to see...
Patrik A
, Dec 2017
This was a great tour, got to see the Aeolian archipelago in a day and also the wonderful Stromboli island and it’s volcano. The negative is a very crowded boat and partly caotic arrangement for someone not speaking Italian. However the trip can be recommended as a must during a stay in Sicily.
star-4
Very interesting tour around two...
lucybarnett
, Dec 2017
Very interesting tour around two beautiful island towns and surrounding geologic features, led by a friendly and knowledgable guide. Spectacular view of Mt Etna. Exciting night view of Stomboli's volcano spewing steam, smoke, and burning gases. We were lucky to have beautiful, sunny weather and smooth seas in October. My only complaint was that the boat was full and it was hard to get a seat or standing space where you had an unobstructed view for taking pictures. It was a long day's travel, but worth the effort and expense.
star-5
Excellent. Not an awful lot to do on...
James T
, Oct 2017
Excellent. Not an awful lot to do on the islands... but totally worth it to see Stomboli erupting at night. Unforgettable.

Product code: 6099ISLANDS

Explore Similar Things to Do