Recent Searches
Clear

Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary

|
Venezia, Italy
Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary

From $34.61

Price varies by group size

Lowest Price Guarantee

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon50 minutes  (Approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 7 more

Overview

Traverse the canals of Venice aboard a traditional gondola with your very own gondolier. Float along narrow waterways and hidden passages, admiring the beauty of one of Italy's most magical cities. Pass beneath centuries-old bridges and take in famous attractions such as St. Marks' Bell Tower and San Giorgio Island from the coziness of your flat-bottomed boat.
  • A gondola ride along Venice's waterways
  • Savor one of Venice's most sought-after and romantic experiences
  • Navigate secluded passages and beneath centuries-old bridges en route to the Grand Canal
  • See some of the city's top sights from a completely new vantage point
  • An ideal way to explore Venice, whether you're a couple, family or solo traveler
Saved to wishlist!
Shared gondola ride with live guide (50 minutes tour including 30 minutes of gondola ride
PRIVATE GONDOLA RIDE 30 MINUTES (if chosen) without live commentary
Shared gondola: live commentary in Italian & English.
Shared gondola: commentary by app in German, French, Spanish, Japanese, Hindi, Russian & Chinese.
Hotel pickup
Audio devices
Earphones

Departure Point

Calle larga de l'Ascension, 1257, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

SHARED OPTION: With Piazza San Marco and the arches of Museo Correr at your back and the Poste Italiane in front of you, look on the left and you will see a big grey newsstand. The newsstand is between Fendi Boutique and Poste Italiane (Post Office). The guide will have a sign “Gondola Tour”.

Return Details

Returns to original departure point

Departure Point

Calle Larga XXII Marzo, 2091/b, 30124 Venezia VE, Italy

ONLY FOR PRIVATE OPTION: GO to the Gondola Bauer landing stage. If you arrive at the Hotel Bauer, you will see the landing stage in front of it. Go to gondoliers and show the ticket

Return Details

Returns to original departure point
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Each gondola can host maximum 5 people; the seat aboard cannot be chosen but will be assigned by the gondolier depending of guests weight.
  • The Gondola Ride does not operate in case of exceptionally bad weather or high/low tide (in these cases it can be postponed the days after otherwise it will be refunded)
  • The itinerary may change in the event of wind or bad weather
  • The guide will be only on one gondola, the participants on the others gondola will listen to her/him with the audio-devices
  • The live commentary will be only in English and Italian. The commentary on German, French, Spanish, Japanese, Chinese, Hindi, and Russian will be provided by mobile app downloaded on the own devices.
  • Near public transportation
  • Not recommended for travelers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travelers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • The live guide IS NOT included in the PRIVATE OPTION
  • Please be at the meeting point 15 minutes before the departure time
  • The customers health is the most important matter for us, the tour operates in according to the Covid-19 National directives in order to guarantee the experiences in a safe environment.
  • All customer touchpoints are frequently cleaned, and the tour will leave with small groups.
  • Most travelers can participate
  • We only ask the kindness to bring the own mask in case you need to wear it.
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 5 travelers
  • OPERATED BY VENICE TOURS S.R.L.

For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
Q:
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary.
Q:
What is the policy on sanitization during Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary?
A:The policies on sanitization are:

  • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary.
Q:
What is the social distancing policy during Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary.
Q:
What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary?
A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
See all safety measures taken by Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary.
Q:
What is the maximum group size during Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary?
A:This activity will have a maximum of 5 travelers.

See all safety measures taken by Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary.

Traveler Photos

Reviews

4.0
star-4
172 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 172 reviews
star-5
Nice
Anton_N
, Sep 2021
Nice gondola ride with extremelly friendly gondolier who provided us a lot of relevant historical info.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thanks for your kind review.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Worth it!
Marilyn_D
, Sep 2021
Great tour and commentary! Loved the gondola ride. Our guide was local and answered all our questions.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thanks for your kind review
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Very disappointing
Chadia_A
, Sep 2021
Not what we expected. The gondola driver didn’t put any effort to make sure we enjoyed it. He made the ride shorter. He kep talking to the friends passing by instead of narrating a bit about the area. Not what we expected for a private tour. I heard the group tour it’s actually better.
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Group Gondola
Nancy_P
, Sep 2021
Excellent tour Guide was great Enjoyed being on the smaller canals and of course the grand canal. I would recommend.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Thanks for your kind review
HelpfulHelpful
star-4
A short little taste of gondola, needs better Covid protocol
Anami
, Aug 2021
A nice little taste of gondola, great for a solo traveler. It’s short but sweet. You don’t enter the grand canal FYI. I think there are cheaper shared gondola rides available actually (if you check near St Mark vaporetto stop nearby) but this wasn’t bad. They did not check temps or green passes and my fellow passengers took their masks off - yes we were outdoors but gondolas are tiny and someone coughed directly into my face which was not great.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Worst experience with loss of money
Subramanyam_S
, Aug 2021
We were to go on Gondola tour at 6 pm on 21 August. It was difficult to identify the tour guide or via toe person. We called the number in the voucher many times and there was no response. We also sent an email yesterday since we missed the tour and the money we paid because of this. There should be a responsible contact number who can respond.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear, the office is open 7/7 from 9:00 AM to 7:pm with many assistants ready to help the customers. It’s impossible that no one replied you. I am sorry for your bad experience but maybe you called the wrong number or you are posting the review on the wrong business page. Best
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Gondola review
Nathalie_M
, Aug 2021
I loved the experience. It would have been amazing if the staff giving the tour would have sang to us Italian songs
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Thanks a lot for your review
HelpfulHelpful
star-5
Beautiful gondola ride through Venice
Nicola_M
, Aug 2021
Tour guide was really friendly and was very informative. The Gondola driver was showing us Mozart's house and other highlights. The Gondola behind us had a beautiful singer. Magical ride.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
thanks for your kind review
HelpfulHelpful
star-2
Just ok
Tikeira_R
, Aug 2021
Not sure if I got what i purchased. The tour lasted 20 minutes with no commentary . It was a very short ride overall.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Dear Sir, probably you did not partecipate to our excursion our tour lasts at least 1 hour, it's divided in 3 parts, first introduction, gondola ride with commentary and final explenation. You are not reviewing our tour with this comment sorry.
HelpfulHelpful
star-1
Read this post and make a decision
Keyla_B
, Aug 2021
Let me start by telling you that what you pay for this tour is fair for the experience you'll have, if you actually have the experience. We started the tour at the meeting site with the guide, Rachelle, she was nice and ver cordial. We walked a couple blocks ti were the gondolas were parked. She proceeded to explain different features about the gondola. Then we took the gondola starting in the little canals towards the big canal. When we reached the big canal there was a bad weather and the guy driving the gondola turned back to the starting point. So instead ok 30 minutes we were in the gondola for 10 minutes. When I tried to ask for a refund because we didn't finish the ride, the tour operator said that I never showed up. As you can see by my description, I did showed up. If you are able to actually do the whole ride, it might be worthy. However, if things go wrong like weather issues, they will say you never were there. It's up to you. Best of luck.
icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
Tahnks for your review, we have not received any message concerning your matter probably you haven't spoken with us but with the dealer of our services, usually if, for weather conditions, clients can't make the gondola experince we offer them to repeat the gondola ride later or the day after.
HelpfulHelpful

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary
Venice: Grand Canal by Gondola with commentary

star-4172

50 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$34.61

star-34

1 hour 45 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$59.88

star-3.517

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$20.54

star-3.5315

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$35.81

star-31

1 hour 30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$75.45

star-3.5130

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$35.80

star-3.540

30 minutes

Free Cancellation

From
$49.10

star-4650

1 hour

Free Cancellation

From
$65.87

Explore Similar Things to Do